Deep Roots Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "With Light in my Beak"

With Light in my Beak
by Fireproof_Babies
Recommends (9)
Sat, Sep 27, 2008 @ 3:16 PM

Uses samples from:

 
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 27, 2008 @ 3:40 PM
the spoken-word parts in the beginning are almost shakespearean in their simplicity & possible hint of consquences. but the clarinet solo gets my vote for best utilization of an underappreciated wind instrument that i’ve heard this week. good stuff, FB.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Sep 28, 2008 @ 4:20 PM
“…possible hint of consequences.” Yes, that’s kinda the mood I tried to convey. Life and death on the cold surface; with queer science beneath. Thanks for the review PM!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 28, 2008 @ 12:07 AM
That “And do things there…” put a big smile on my face, because it’s such a contrast with the menacing atmosphere you have created in the minutes leading up to that. And that clarinet sounds really great.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Sep 28, 2008 @ 4:25 PM
Thanks Sub! Yeah, that ending phrase was almost cut; but thought a bit o’ humor might be just the thing to close… :)
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 28, 2008 @ 11:22 AM
Great guitar, great clarinet, FB on its sauce. A listening very interesting, congrats.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Sep 28, 2008 @ 4:29 PM
Many thanks onlymeith! The clarinet was my first instrument. I’ve neglected it recently. Need to save my money for a bass clarinet, as I find them more fun, as well as richer, more powerful.
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 29, 2008 @ 7:47 PM
I took clarinet in 5th-grade band class, and wisely left it there… you have done some wonderful things with it however. Love the words, layers, and topicality- didn’t imagine I’d be hearing musical references to CERN’s latest news that quickly ;-)
A FB journey’s always one I’m willing to ride along for.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Tue, Sep 30, 2008 @ 2:26 PM
Clarinet in the 5th grade? hee…hee..that’s great. I wish our program had started in the 5th, ‘stead of the 6th. Thanks for the review!
khidir
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 29, 2008 @ 11:22 PM
this was a great listen, I’d bring up the vocals a bit more in the beginning though!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Tue, Sep 30, 2008 @ 2:29 PM
hmmm….you could be right. Thank you for listening! PS- I’m working on a remix of one of yours as we speak.
PJ Rey
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 7:42 PM
You added so much. I love it. The clarinet is amazing!
 
.
permalink   PJ Rey Sat, Nov 8, 2008 @ 10:31 PM
I was listening again to how cool this track turned out. Any chance you could post the raw guitar, clarinet, and vocal tracks for this so I could play around I bit with them as I try to evolve this song a little more. Cheers!