Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » DIY » Compositional Methods

Compositional Methods

Bruce H. McCosar
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2008 @ 3:10 AM
I’ve been writing music for a few years now, and I’ve developed a fairly consistent method. Most commonly, I start off with a beat and a bass line, then build from there. Most of my melodies start of as improvisation, but develop into themes the more I work with the song.

However, the world of remixing is a new universe. As I’m learning, I’m discovering … well, that I need a lot of practice before I jump in! My first few efforts weren’t exactly great. In many cases, I find I’m starting off with the end product (a melody or a theme) and walking backwards toward the origin point.

Which brings me to my questions:

1. How do you compose for remixing? What is the order of events and procedures that works for you?

2. How did you learn? I know most likely the answer is “learn by doing”, but what I’m asking for is what helped you along the way? For example, for me, there were three main events that shaped me as a musician:

— Learning jazz standards (helped me to develop melody skills).

— Playing live shows in a few local bands (forced me to run with what I have rather than holding back until I’m perfect).

— Switching to bass as my main instrument (for me, easy to compose on). Maybe, properly, I should say “switching to bass clef”, since I also tend to develop ideas based on left hand piano or organ lines.

Any input appreciated.
victor
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2008 @ 9:56 PM
have you ever reharmonized a fake book tune? done any orchestration/instrumentation - you can approach it like that.