Waiting Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "Lucy Jane HopeLess"

Lucy Jane HopeLess
by wellman
Recommends (12)
Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 9:49 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 10:41 PM
This sounds pretty cool. The orchestral part is a very good addition to the piece. It makes an already great song sound classy.
 
.
permalink   wellman Sun, May 24, 2009 @ 5:43 AM
The orchestral idea came after listening a song from a guy named Juan Carlos Rodriguez. I really liked the idea of orchestral sounds in a Hip hop mix.

Thaks for reviewing!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, May 24, 2009 @ 2:54 AM
Wellman, this is great. There’s a couple of odd sounding string pairings on the lower shelf near the beginning, but I totally forget this as you’ve created a smooth and fun mix. Love the ‘bond’ vibe.

You’ve done more vocal arrangement than I did and I think yours sounds better (for this musical style anyways).

Higher strings sound ace. The mid rap section is a smart move too. Really well done mate, great track worthy of plenty of reviews.
 
.
permalink   wellman Sun, May 24, 2009 @ 6:08 AM
Thanks for ur ewviewing Scott! I tried to create a “dark” atmosphere at the beginning of the song. That’s the reason of the low strings in that part of the song.

You and I have worked with the same son at least 2 times in thenlast months, and is funny the differents way a song can find, depending on the remixer :-)
Carosone
.
permalink   Mon, May 25, 2009 @ 12:24 PM
Beautiful mix, those orchestral ideas are wonderful in contrast with the easy hook, and they sound realistic (I wonder what it is).
Scott wrote “bond” and I am enlightened! That’s why like it perhaps..
Leza Boyland
.
permalink   Thu, May 28, 2009 @ 2:22 PM
That is a great remix, I love what you did with Anny2k track hopeless. Great sound! L
 
.
permalink   wellman Fri, May 29, 2009 @ 6:47 AM
It was a big pleasure to work with ur Pella Leza.. U have a very powerful yet beautiful voice.. please keep the pellas coming!!
s.c.mixer
.
permalink   Fri, May 29, 2009 @ 6:57 PM
The remix is cool, but please check this track:
http://ccmixter.org/files/s...
Starting at 0:57 you can listen to a very similar (if not identical) string arrangement.
Unconscious sampling?? :)
 
.
permalink   wellman Fri, May 29, 2009 @ 7:09 PM
Never heard that before! But it is identical as u said. I heard the string arrangement in a song arranged by a guy named Juan Rodriguez, I took the idea from there… Just the idea! I played all the parts, didn’t make any sampling. I don’t know where the idea originally comes from.. but I will just say that the string arrangement is very contagious hehehe

Thanks for reviewing
SuperslyX
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 1:28 PM
Nice atmosphere and blend of styles. Very well put together. I think that,after reading your profile,you ‘re on track for what you ‘re after. Very stylish!