Join Us Under the Tree - Add Your Musical Gift
skip
Home » People » spinmeister » Get Up » Reviews

Reviews for "Get Up"

Get Up
by spinmeister
Recommends (18)
Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 1:44 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 3:51 AM
techno rockabilly? I dunno, but I’m up!!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 3:43 PM
techno rockabilly — I know, I’m living on the edge! ;-)

thanks AB!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 6:19 AM
I can’t think of a betta’ way to start a week… Awesome remix, spinmeister.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 3:45 PM
thank you, MMT! A Saturday night mix for a Monday morning :-)
Calling Sister Midnight
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 6:42 AM
Wow. Nice way to “get up” — having this mix waiting for me this morning. LOVE the Annie Lennox-style harmonies and the surf-riffed guitars. Turn it UP!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 4:05 PM
Thanks CSM! I was channeling my inner Dave Stewart :-)
Speck
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 2:57 PM
Exciting. Techno and maybe a little klezmer. Fun mood, ample changes to keep it moving along and I especially enjoyed the variety of vocal treatments.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 4:14 PM
Thanks S! CSM’s voice is such a pleasure to work with. One of our most dangerous sirens. ;-)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 8:51 PM
Yipee-yai-yay! Now let’s dance!!!! This is so soundtrack ready I wish I was a movie maker!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 11:41 PM
you just need a camera and a mirror ball :-) … thanks SJ!
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 26, 2010 @ 5:11 AM
For sure a trip into the 80s synth pop area with a touch of 21st century but mainly a touch of “Spin”.
Agree to the Annie Lennox style.

Spin=fun!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 10:29 AM
Thanks TJ! I had a lot of fun working with this song, too!
timberman
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 8:14 AM
Some people are offended when you hint that there’s a dash of 80’s in their music and yes, the 80’s was a tasteless decade but there was some really good dance music made back then. I smile when I listen to this. It’s a good sign. I like it.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 10:42 AM
lol - thanks StP! I might be offended, if you told me my clothing or my hair looks like it’s the 80s!

But I feel complimented when some of my music reminds people of 1980s music, because I still like quite a lot of 80s music and I frequently pay homage to 80s music. Also, the 1980s was the golden age of the synthesizer. And it was the beginning of midi. And the beginning of sequencers, eventually becoming DAWs!
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 11:05 AM
I had a huge problem with this one: http://www.youtube.com/watc...
And if your hair or shoulder pads look anything like anyone in the video you might find it worthwhile having a serious talk with your stylist.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 11:18 AM
lol - that’s funny! I would prefer my 80s band to look a little more like this!
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 11:21 AM
Oh yeah, that’s my style. One of the 5 best vids from that era. Pro musicians, all of them.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 1, 2010 @ 3:52 AM
Return to Arpeggio Mountain.

:-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 1, 2010 @ 10:31 AM
You can take the boy away from Arpeggio Mountain. But you can’t take Arpeggio Mountain out of the boy. :-)
essesq
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 4, 2010 @ 7:48 AM
So you finally found the keys to the synthesizer closet :-). Well done.

Echoes to all the comments preceding saying how fun this is, blah blah, but also worth noting that this mix has some really nice production values. I say that listening on my very lovely but quite unforgiving Sennies that I plugged directly into my laptop and not through my amplifier I use to soften and enhance tones.

You have a full and very rich thing going here, using all the headspace the phones can give, and I hear a little Lady Gaga…but that could just be my household wielding it’s influence.

Sorry it took so long for my review…the headphones have been buried for a while…
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, Nov 4, 2010 @ 11:55 AM
Thanks for your generous review, Ms. E.! The party always gains sparkle when you arrive! Hope things are well in your world and hope the Lady G. fan club in your household is doing well, too!