Shifting Sun Playlist
skip

Reviews for "Shambala (Just Imagine)"

Shambala (Just Imagine)
by Snowflake
Recommends (21)
Sat, Jul 7, 2018 @ 8:18 PM

Uses samples from:

 
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 7, 2018 @ 10:56 PM
Sounds to me like an eight-petalled lotus blossom floating between snow mountains
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 7:32 AM
Ah, so you know the legend! Doesn’t it sound glorious? Thank you so very much for the Ed Pick — I awoke to that this morning and was so surprised! Your support and encouragement these many years means the world to me. Namaste. :)
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 7, 2018 @ 11:35 PM
Love the chorus and your interpretation. Another beautiful piece from you. Tobias’ stem was fantastic as well.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 7:34 AM
Thank you Ivan. I really appreciate you taking the time to listen and review. Tobias’ stem was indeed beautiful — and your perspective on it as a gifted guitar player has extra meaning. Isn’t it magical, how one mixter’s gift becomes the next mixter’s muse? Peace.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 8:51 AM
☮️ And thank you, Emily, for the role you played in keeping ccM free. Thanks for the gift.
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 2:21 AM
The beautiful magick of ccMixter happened here.
A great sample got it’s golden surface from Snowflake.
Wonderful and well deserved ed pick.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 7:36 AM
Magic is in the air here at ccMixter! I feel it reading your review. I am so truly honored by the Ed Pick and your kind words. The song was given its wings by Tobias and for that I am so truly grateful. Thank you for your beautiful friendship and support. xxxx
Doxent Zsigmond
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 3:02 AM
Great words and production.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 7:37 AM
Thank you Doxent! I really appreciate it!!!
Aussens@iter
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 3:51 AM
Hi Emily,

I can’t stop listening to this! And I can’t adequately express my gratitude for this beautiful piece of music you’ve created with my guitar. The way you’ve arranged the guitar fragments make so much sense. And the instruments you’ve added breathe even more life into the song. The mix is really good and let’s every aspect of the song shine. By the way, I’m sorry for causing frustration with my detuned guitar, but I didn’t notice that the tuning was a few cents off until you’ve mentioned it. I promise to check the tuning more often in future!

Also, there are many aspects of your lyric that I feel connected to. Recently I’ve had an argument with a family member who accused me of not having achieved very much in life, like getting married, having children, buying a house and stuff like that… Not everyone understands that I’ve unplugged from the idea that these things are required for everyone in order to live a happy, fulfilled and meaningful life. The only thing I always wanted to do since I was a teenager was to create music and to be creative. So, I’m living the life I’ve always imagined and I’m very happy with it.

And this is why ccM is a very important part of my life. It gives me the opportunity to be creative with so many other musicians with different backgrounds, exploring new genres, collaborating and expanding my horizon. This place is so awesome! I love it…!

Many thanks for taking my guitar to a higher level, for all your help and support during the last year, for everything you do for this community and for your courage to help leading the dusty copyright and licensing into the 21st century.

You shape the future!

Shambala is waiting…! :)

With deepest sympathy,
Tobias

PS. Please note that you’ve accidentally linked a different instrumental than the one you used in this remix (supposed to be the “Guitar Instrumental Stem Pack”)… :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 8:02 AM
Dear Tobias,

I’ve had to wipe my tears aside just so I can respond. This is honestly the most genuinely beautiful review I’ve ever received here at ccMixter. I’m not sure you can ever know how your words entered my heart today — and give me the strength and reason for continuing to sacrifice many things to keep operating ccMixter. You make it worth it for me!!!

I was listening to your guitar high above the clouds on the airplane, and suddenly the words and melody just poured out of me, right then and there. You were the key that opened this inspiration. Thank you!!

The guitar tuning was an added interest in the story. And gave me the opportunity to involve another talented mixter in our community — and it gave extra meaning for me to have spinmeister involved too. In a perfect way, this little challenge shows all of us here need each other in some way.

I totally relate to your situation with your family member. I’ve always been the black sheep in my family, and even amongst many of my friends. I understand that feeling inside that says “I’m different. I don’t care about the same things you do. This stuff just doesn’t feel like what really matters in life…”

So no matter what they say, know you have a friend here that supports your purpose — to create music, be creative and inspire that in others. Live the life you’ve imagined….

Thank you again for your support and encouragement as we try to help forge new pathways for music in a changing world. I will re-read your words again and again when I feel discouraged.

Peace and gratitude,
~Em

P.S. I changed the stem source. Apologies!!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 8:47 AM
For what this is worth, your guitar playing and the instrumentals you create are very good.

Hope you patch things up with the family member in question. Sometimes people mean well, but family being family, what comes out tends to be expressed differently because of expectations. All the best.
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 8:22 AM
Just lovely :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 1:10 PM
Thank you :)
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 11:07 AM
Honestly, I had to come back to this one later in the day. I don’t always wake up receptive to the peace, love and hope mind(heart?)set. In fact it’s getting harder to find it (in me) at all lately. I always feel it in your musical creations though and even just knowing it’s there brings me some solace. Well, I guess if I’m really being honest I should say I always hear it in your music. I might be too broken (or practical, or ‘male’) to ever really feel it.

By the way, my favorite piece of music ever (when I’m pressed to name just one) was written on a plane (also on acid interestingly enough). Rahsaan Roland Kirk’s Inflated Tear.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 1:13 PM
Thank you for your candor. I want you to know, while my music may express peace, love and hope I struggle with despair, judgment, disgust each day. I think music is a place for us to express these deeper feelings. And they don’t always need to be rosy. I guess I write the peaceful hoping parts of the songs as much for myself as anyone else — to somehow help me overcome that inner turmoil that our current world weighs upon me. Thank you for your words.

Thanks for the link to Inflated Tear. Very cool!!
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 2:12 PM
You had me at the first note and hooked me at the first line. Authentic and honest and as always great Tobs guitar composition
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 6:33 PM
I feel so emotional listening to this… magically pulled into your hope-filled oasis… you got me teary-eyed…

Now, as for the production, I just have to share how much I love your voice with a (relatively) simple arrangement. Your voice with Tobias’ guitar is simply divine.

💗💗💗💗💗💗💗
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 13, 2018 @ 2:46 PM
“All my wrongs reconciled
Through harmony with the land”.


what a beautiful prayer. thank you for sharing your prodigious gifts so freely.
Calyman
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 19, 2018 @ 7:00 PM
Two Diamonds,
I mean for the purity of sound and interpretations,
Clean is not the right word, it is pure and proper.
Congratulations to you both for this
wonderful work.

To do the same with the same tools
would be unthinkable.

Taped.