Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip
Home » People » Snowflake » The Heartstring » Reviews

Reviews for "The Heartstring"

The Heartstring
by Snowflake
Recommends (50)
Mon, Apr 9, 2012 @ 10:46 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 10, 2012 @ 3:06 AM
How amazingly clever and resourceful you are.

I have a full affinity and understanding here as a song writer to see what you have done in your choice and decisions both lyrically and musically to make this work .

As always, Impressed.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Apr 10, 2012 @ 9:29 AM
oh, thank you! i was worried about using When Tomorrow Comes at first for very same reasons Admiral Bob mentions below. your song is a thing of perfection. still, thanks for being part of this special project for my family, and for sharing your gifts. i’m happy you like it :)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 10, 2012 @ 5:57 AM
I was reluctant to listen to this. The source was one of those songs that stuck with me, and was close to perfect as it was, and not one I was eager to see transformed.

Shouldn’t have worried. Totally different song, and it honours the delicate guitar as much as the original did.

A lovely song, and I’m sure you’re Mom will be happy. As long as the Moms of all those phone calls you kept in there… I think the same Mom, right? :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Apr 10, 2012 @ 9:36 AM
thanks for your candor — i worried about using When Tomorrow Comes for the same reasons you cite. through working with the track, i gained an even deeper appreciation of the original, and learned the strength of the arrangement and guitar playing by listening and interacting with it a countless number of times.

all of those phone-calls are my siblings — we worked on this together and are giving the song to my mom tomorrow. she is a huge Loveshadow fan :)
Jeris
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 10, 2012 @ 1:38 PM
Well, I have the opposite circumstance…haven’t heard Loveshadow’s original yet. ..so this is perfection to me:)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Apr 10, 2012 @ 10:29 PM
thanks Jeris! that means a lot :) you’ll like LS’s track too i’m certain!
TheDICE
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 10, 2012 @ 7:11 PM
Wonderful lyrics, Snowflake… these are really deep feelings, you are a great songwriter and a really goodhearted person. sob!

Apart from this, its really a beautiful song. The phone messages are a great idea! Congratulations, as always, for your excellent skills in singing
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Apr 10, 2012 @ 10:29 PM
thank you for such a kind review. i was definitely emotional while working on this track ;)
VickyDan
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 11, 2012 @ 2:52 AM
As a hymn …. Beautiful vocal performance, and beautiful text …. I like theme.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Apr 12, 2012 @ 7:58 AM
thank you vicky!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 11, 2012 @ 10:20 PM
What a great vocal! LS seems to be putting out some brilliantly poignant stuff of late that helps to bring out the best in this wonderful performance. Not that I wish to take anything away from your song as this is such a personal tune that it oozes sincerity throughout.

Glad I came back!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Apr 12, 2012 @ 7:58 AM
sooooo happy to see you!!! have missed you so very much. this made my day! :)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 12, 2012 @ 8:37 AM
That’s a LOT of love wrapped up into one song… Your songwriting is extremely affecting- I still have tears gathered in my eyes. I totally know what you mean about using LS’s guitar…. you did it so respectfully… so sincerely. Adding the voice messages from your sibs was such an inspired idea… it made this even more moving. The humorous ‘hot mama’ part is so wonderful- adds another layer to what an incredible woman I’m sure your mom is… Happy birthday to your mom! :D
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:37 PM
your song gifts are always so special and often end up among my favorite of your songs — what a lovely, lovely, lovely track (and your harmonies are so very delicious!)
ruif3r
.
permalink   Sun, May 27, 2012 @ 12:51 PM
if I use this samples/vocals etc. how must be the name of the final song? The Heartstring - ruif3r feat. Snowflake……or “the heartstring - Snowflake (ruif3r remix)……or “the heartstring - Snowflake feat. Ruif3r….sorry for my ignorance n.n”
rayrama
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 12, 2012 @ 9:31 PM
One of my favs, very moving song. Like your description.