Catalyst-RSVP Virtual Meetup
skip

Reviews for "Good Enough (shockshadow remix)"

Good Enough (shockshadow remix)
by shockshadow
Recommends (13)
Tue, Sep 29, 2009 @ 6:08 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Uncool Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 30, 2009 @ 2:00 AM
Hi Shockshadow, nice work, as usual! If you want some constructive criticism (you said you might do some more work on it…) then I find myself listening to the “snare” a lot, even though it isn’t doing anything exciting. Possible room for improvement there..? Although I can’t suggest anything specific!
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Wed, Sep 30, 2009 @ 10:29 PM
Yeah, you’re absolutely right Mr. Bob…the snares need some attention. I have the next few days off, so I’ll probably split the snares off into their own track and do some work on them. I’ll probably randomize the cutoff frequency on each hit, do some subtle ‘glitching’ on them throughout, and then master them on the EQ by heightening the ‘Q’ level (which pushes them into the background a bit), and lowering the mid-treble gain. That should do the trick.
:)
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Thu, Oct 1, 2009 @ 1:52 AM
hope it doesn’t take two days!

the mastering magic sounds really interesting (I have no idea about that kind of stuff) - look forward to hearing the difference :-)
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Thu, Oct 1, 2009 @ 2:03 AM
haha, you’ve already fixed it!

amazing how these little details make all the difference…
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 2, 2009 @ 11:30 AM
This is terrific! I missed a lot of tracks this past week, and am so glad MC Jack included it in cool music! Thanks.
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sun, Oct 4, 2009 @ 3:05 PM
Tkanks SackJo22, I’m glad you enjoyed it. :)
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 3, 2009 @ 4:25 PM
Uncool Bob, the snare keeps the rhythm to allow the mind to indulge in the atmospheric tones that surround it, everything in the mix has a purpose.

Shockshadow, this is a great sounding mix, the arpegio’s work really well and the overall vibe is super cool.
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sun, Oct 4, 2009 @ 3:12 PM
Great point Scott…thank you for the review. While this song is far from the ‘minimalist’ genre, I’ve noticed many artists in that genre use that same technique. It gives the song more of a surreal quality, which I enjoy.
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Tue, Nov 3, 2009 @ 5:11 AM
Quote: scottalthamUncool Bob, the snare keeps the rhythm to allow the mind to indulge in the atmospheric tones that surround it, everything in the mix has a purpose.


I think you were already hearing the version with the subtly reworked snares! Beforehand they actually stood out too much, in my opinion, and didn’t let the mind indulge…