Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip

Reviews for "Dark Heart Dial-Up"

Dark Heart Dial-Up
by Scott Altham
Recommends (32)
Sat, Apr 3, 2010 @ 5:35 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 3, 2010 @ 10:30 PM
Very pleasing remix! The stereo gtr is interesting. Is it a VST?
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 4:26 AM
Thanks FB. Yeah well spotted, its a VST. Steinberg virtual guitarist!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 7:30 AM
It sounds very realistic. Think I’ll have to hunt it down.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 8:47 AM
I own that one too and use it regularly.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 3, 2010 @ 10:54 PM
Damn that’s quick. And very good too. LS has a great voice and you have created a wonderful musical backing for it. Very nice.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 4:27 AM
Cheers Sub. My intention yesterday was to go and remix LS’s SP*NK but luckily fresh vox where posted so I got straight onto it. Thanks for commenting!
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 12:07 AM
Lovely. Great attention to detail, those handclaps for instance.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 4:28 AM
I like it when reviewers pick out certain less obvious elements of the mix, shows you’ve really listened. Thanks for the ongoing support Per and congrats on that recent ed pick.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 3:39 AM
Ohhh this is very toothsome, Scottie. LS’s vocal treated with care and supported by such a lovely backing track. Up to you extremely high standard, as usual. Happy Easter! xxxx
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 4:31 AM
You’ve just fulfilled my new word of the day Ciggi, toothsome (Palatable, acceptable to the taste or mind) - great word. Thanks for continuing to stop by and yes Happy Easter to you both too (Bring on the chocolate!)
Xaphoid
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 4, 2010 @ 11:54 AM
Guitar sounds wonderfull. You could’a fooled me with that vst and I’m a guitarist. Piano melody is memorable and whole track sounds it was meant for the vocals.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Apr 10, 2010 @ 3:28 PM
Cheers Xaphoid.
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 5, 2010 @ 6:37 AM
Nice. Like the backing track a lot. Extremely clean production up to your usual standards. I like the build-up and how you introduce the various elements like the arp-y synth sound.

I kept expecting the intro bars to re-enter later on. The feel of the intro is fantastic and would be an excellent break between verses later on. Just an idea.

The vocals might be a bit low in the mix. Particularly notice it when you listen to it at a lower volume.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Apr 10, 2010 @ 3:28 PM
Evenin’.

You’re probably right on the vocal level. I had a thought during creating it that the vocal may be too low in the mix. I think I tried it higher and it overpowered the track, which doesn’t sound good.

The track was originally quite dark (that intro part) and I transitioned to a more up beat / major approach. Kinda forgot about the opening few bars.

Cheers
S
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 6, 2010 @ 8:49 AM
Well you were quick of the mark here for sure.

Not convinced entirely its the right vocal for your backing track , but hey what i do know, just glad to be in a Scott Altham production. :-)
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Apr 10, 2010 @ 3:29 PM
Cheers Jeff.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 7, 2010 @ 8:38 AM
Fantastic — I really like how the intro transitioned into the verse; and while there was certainly the chill beat, the strumming guitar sounds warmed up the song. And then of course, the harmonization overall was just beautiful. Bravo!
essesq
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 7, 2010 @ 9:23 AM
I like this too. I agree with Colab that I would have liked to hear the vocals a bit more forward, but it could have been my laptop speakers too that helped bury them a little. It is your lot that you have set the bar very high for yourself so I feel free to nit a little. I also really like the soaring synthy bits (work with me here, I haven’t been reviewing much lately), and maybe had they been louder they would have packed an even bigger emotional wallop. Overall I like the style of this, particularly because it wasn’t what I expected from you, and I like surprises. Well done :-).
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Apr 10, 2010 @ 3:31 PM
Bar… High… Nit… go for it.

I did think about increasing the vol of that sort of metalic arp section but it all got a bit spaghetti junction.

Thanks for listening esseq. I hear you where in Chester recently!?
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, Apr 10, 2010 @ 3:36 PM
Yup, even had a quick walk round the musical instrument store by the Roman Ruins garden. Can’t resist being around music gear :-) …
TheJoe
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 8, 2010 @ 12:50 PM
This is some surprise, or not?

Some very classy pop production!
I expected some dance floor uptempo thing, so I always love to be surprised.

Really good one Scott!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Apr 10, 2010 @ 3:31 PM
Cheers Joe.

I know you don’t stop by too often so great that you’ve come to visit my page.

DCMsc
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 8, 2010 @ 9:41 PM
Just loved that “strings” in the back…they are amazing…Nice work!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Apr 10, 2010 @ 3:32 PM
Hey thanks for listening