Waiting Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Scomber » Circling » Reviews

Reviews for "Circling"

Circling
by Scomber
Recommends (17)
Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 2:14 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 3:43 PM
Sweet! How did you do that so quickly??? Incredible how such a groovin’ track supports the vocal so perfectly. Thank you!!!
 
.
permalink   Scomber Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 4:47 PM
Thanks Em, your pells are nicely produced and easy to work with.
Married life must agree with you!
As soon as I pick your key, it generally happens fast and I’ve learnt to keep it simple starting with the beat then the bass and adding other layers on top. Thanks :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 7:15 PM
I’m the luckiest woman alive being married to John. I’m a huge fan of your work and am honored to be part of this. Thanks for sharing your process :D
keytronic
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 4:24 PM
hmmm…..very relaxing….
(would you mind leaving me a message of what DAW you use? I am about to change)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 4:42 PM
Thanks K! Im running two DAWs, logic pro 9 on a Mac and Protools 11 on a PC. Ive got both connected to a Digidesign 003 rack via firewire so I can run them both at once. Some things I do with protools, but most of the final mix and mastering I do in logic together with izotope ozone 5. I use melodyne for any repitching or time shifting.
 
.
permalink   copperhead Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 7:01 PM
When you say you run them at the same time, Are they locked together in sync? I was thinking of adding Logic to go along with my PT11.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 7:16 PM
I wish. I have tried to rewire pt in but it wasn’t too stable. Not a sane option. I now share a big external hard drive between the two, so I share source that’s about it. I like the features on both so its horses for courses.
 
.
permalink   copperhead Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 7:26 PM
So how do you get you files from PT11 to Logic? Drag them in?
 
.
permalink   Scomber Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 7:34 PM
I share a common project folder on the external drive with both daws. Sometimes I need to bounce from pt to this folder other times I just drag in the working sample into logic.
 
.
permalink   Zep Hurme Tue, Feb 11, 2014 @ 5:37 AM
Until couple of weeks ago my main thang for years has been Cubase (and PT occasionally). I tried Presonus Studio One few weeks ago and I think it was love at first sight. ;) Seems like it fits perfectly to my workflow at the moment.
 
.
permalink   copperhead Wed, Feb 12, 2014 @ 10:30 AM
I just watched a long youtube vid on it. Thanks for tossing that wrench in the works lol.
 
.
permalink   Zep Hurme Wed, Feb 12, 2014 @ 10:43 AM
All the major DAWs are great. I just got bored doing things the same way every fracking time and went for a new toy. ;)
 
.
permalink   copperhead Wed, Feb 12, 2014 @ 11:24 AM
What interface do you use?
 
.
permalink   Zep Hurme Wed, Feb 12, 2014 @ 11:34 AM
None. I’m doing all my home stuff with virtual instruments in the box.
 
.
permalink   keytronic Wed, Feb 12, 2014 @ 3:28 PM
Thank you very much for the information.
I have a few tasks to do now.
Checking out the DAW that ZEP uses and Check out Pro Tools (which seems to be excellent when you actually really record something live).

I have worked with Magix (Music Maker) which is good for starting but I completely got it at its edge. Also I dislike the mastering result compared to what you and others manage to get out of your software.
copperhead
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 10, 2014 @ 6:59 PM
Nice clean mix! You are fast my man.
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 11, 2014 @ 6:05 AM
I like the groove and clean, elegant sound.
 
.
permalink   Zep Hurme Tue, Feb 11, 2014 @ 6:09 AM
… and the dry sound is great. I’ve been doing that also lately. Kill the reverb! ;)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Tue, Feb 11, 2014 @ 2:43 PM
Its very easy to get carried away with reverb. I agree! Snowflakes emotion and delivery is so upfront and intimate its a pity placing her voice in the cellar. Added to this is the high quality of her recordings so you dont need reverb to mask noise or sparkle the tones.
Thanks for review mate!
panu
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 11, 2014 @ 6:57 AM
Good cut, Scombs. Excellent way to showcase one of SF’s best recent offerings.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Tue, Feb 11, 2014 @ 2:44 PM
Thanks P!