COVID-19 & Us Universe Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "Christmas Cake on a Music Box"

Christmas Cake on a Music Box
by radiotimes
Recommends (12)
Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 4:14 AM
 
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 5:45 AM
let us celebrate together now the joy, and the miracle, that is sound. and let us also ascribe to those able to mold it to a new meaning. happy winter solstice RT, you are somethin’ else! your pal, panu.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 11:08 AM
haha, this is great. partly as I just remixed this and spent hours listening to john’s source tracks so it’s cool to hear them in a different context now. good use of that harmonics part, and the choir stuff is really effective. i almost think the vocals might be a wee bit too compressed (at least anchor’s parts) but that’s just my humble opinion. as you mention, this is quirky and unconventional, and don’t ever change that part of you my friend. it’s what makes you unique.
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 4:06 PM
Simply brilliant…
oldDog
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 18, 2008 @ 1:28 AM
Great fun. I’m just back from a trip to Dublin, so the Guinness advice seems like a good idea.
John Anealio
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 18, 2008 @ 6:19 PM
This is such a wonderful collage of sounds. You always put things together in such a unique and creative way. Thanks for all of the wonderful remixes this year. It has been a joy to hear some of my music re-imagined through your creative mind.
essesq
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 7:24 PM
You know I started a review of this one a few days ago and then while I was typing my computer decided it needed to update itself. Even though the screen was flashing I kept typing my review but eventually the damn thing just closed itself down so you had to wait until now.. but enough of my dilemmas …

The central premise of my original review still holds that like your title, this mix is a little like a Christmas Fruitcake, and I don’t mean those things they sell in my part of the world where families pass the thing on from relative to relative like a hot potato. No I mean the kind my husband bakes lovingly each year from his great Aunt’s recipe, mostly fruit, very little cake, baked for a very long time at a relatively gentle temperature, dense and rich and commanding of attention, made of many parts that require a bit of chewing but yet still form a solid whole, and potentially misunderstood by many. If you form a band maybe you should call it Fruitcake :-).

P.S. we have to talk bread baking sometime.. do you bake straight method or using starters…I keep thinking I want to get a starter going but then it’s like keeping a pet :-).
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 10:07 PM
Well I must confess that for many years now I have been an “automatic ” man!

Its all thanks to Panasonic and one of their wonderful bread making machines.

I do occasionaly get the old yeast mix together (only dried - never got a hang of that real stuff!) and make up a frothy mix and make gigantic garlic and rosemary studded flat breads.

I’m also very good with a chicken and my “Coq au vin” is the talk of the motoring trade!!