Listen to Break the Silence Remixes
skip
Home » People » oldDog » If I (dogmix) » Reviews

Reviews for "If I (dogmix)"

If I (dogmix)
by oldDog
Recommends (28)
Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 6:54 AM

Uses samples from:

 
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 7:14 AM
Perfection, oD. Mike’s vocal is outstanding (obviously) but I love all the glittering touches on the backing track - funky but chic - especially those sneaky trombones that make all the difference and are rather sexy. xxxxx
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 7:17 AM
OD you rock! I’m lighting the fire, taking out the brandy, and looking out the window now because this track is just too sadly romantic not to. Your piano playing, as always, is absolutely sublime.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 9:18 AM
Thanks SJ. The pella - like yours - was a pleasure to work on.
panu
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 7:57 AM
panu theory #16: inspired talented geniuses make better music than the Top 10 Billboard artists can ever hope to do. this is a great track.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 9:21 AM
Thanks p, your opinion counts for a lot (tho ‘genius’ may be going a bit far! - at least as regards the mixer)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 9:09 AM
Looks like you put a lot of work into finding the modulations that should be under the vocal. Not one chord is anything other than the exact right chord.

The organ work is really great. I love that.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 9:25 AM
Thanks AB!

When I saw your review of colab’s mix, I thought I might have strayed into the ‘maudlin Boyz 2 Men’ category! - hopefully the chorus just about pulls it away from that.
 
.
permalink   Admiral Bob Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 9:35 AM
No, I think you did real old-time R&B here. Its balladeering, true, but it has power and sophistication like Stax style R&B.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 11:06 AM
Very well done OD. Love The Organ in the background. I’m digging the horns as well but your piano playing always blows me away.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 2:33 AM
Thanks JL, and thanks for introducing us to Mike. Great production on the pella, which made it very easy to work with.
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 11:49 AM
so good - so well wrought too!
great voice and backing music…
the organ a cherry on the cake!
 
.
permalink   oldDog Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 2:34 AM
Thanks for the comments Anchor!
mykleanthony
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 7:14 PM
Can always count on you OD to bring it on home. Very nice work sir. Hope you’re well.

Peace! ;)~
 
.
permalink   oldDog Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 2:38 AM
Thanks MA - listening to your version as I write this, and loving it!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 4:36 AM
I think its all been said, so at the risk of repeating thoughts thus far, I’ll just add ‘Styilistalicious’.
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 7:44 AM
Great unplugged arr and a very sensitive, yet dynamic production.
Good Job Od.