Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter--Sign Up
skip

Reviews for "The Most Generic Thing"

The Most Generic Thing
by Kara Square
Recommends (25)
Thu, Aug 9, 2012 @ 12:05 PM
 
duckett
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 9, 2012 @ 3:40 PM
Quack quack quack!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Aug 9, 2012 @ 5:12 PM
And a quack back at cha’! :)
KungFu
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 9, 2012 @ 4:51 PM
In a strange and beautiful way this songs reminds me of I Want You by Tom Waits (as big a fan of Tom Waits I am that is a huge compliment :). You are truly special Kara and I hope that never changes :) Great recording and it is sparklingly original :) I think I just invented a word because of your song… It is potently creative :) That I love you cacophony in the end is just incredible! Keep on keepin’ on sista!
Cheers!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Aug 9, 2012 @ 5:19 PM
Why haven’t I become a huge Tom Waits fan? (I think the similarity in the two songs is perhaps in the simplicity?) Seriously though, every time I hear him I love him and yet I haven’t focused my energy… I must! To the library website I go to request some cds! Your extremely kind words invigorate and inspire me. Thank you, Joel. Big time. And back at you, my friend- your creativity and kindness is… well… :D
radiotimes
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 9, 2012 @ 9:55 PM
There are not many people who could play a ukelele and come up with such great songs. George Formby is one of the few others I know of!

You just seem to have this very natural way of putting it all together so that it works so well.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Aug 10, 2012 @ 4:58 AM
Being compared to George Formby is a ukulele players dream! :) Thank you, radio. You may like Nicholas Abersold- he’s one of my fav current songwriting ukers… Thanks again!
 
.
permalink   Speck Fri, Aug 10, 2012 @ 12:51 PM
How do you feel about Kate Micucci?
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Aug 10, 2012 @ 1:06 PM
Waaahhh! How did I know know of her/them?! Thank you so much for sharing that link.

Of course, these are the kind of musicians who is doing so close to what I’d like to be doing but have a cable channel behind them and can actually do it and do it crazy well. I guess I should just be happy that people like them! Humph.
timberman
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 9, 2012 @ 10:28 PM
What a sweet and well composed feelgood galore track and what a treat for the subject of the song. I’m smilin’, toe-wigglin’, head noddin’ and singing along and you’re an ukulele maestro by now. Made my morning.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Aug 10, 2012 @ 5:01 AM
Making your morning makes mine! Thank you so much, Per. It’s so fun to picture you singin’, noddin’, smilin’ along! Awwww…! :D
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 10, 2012 @ 12:16 PM
Listening to this is a real pleasure. In the truest sense.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Aug 10, 2012 @ 1:08 PM
Ahhh Speck, thank you for your kindness. I’m truly happy that you enjoyed it!
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 10, 2012 @ 6:38 PM
Challenging lyrics as always…like a smarter “More Than Words.” Never a song from you that isn’t thoughtful, clever, or funny.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Aug 11, 2012 @ 7:54 AM
That means a lot coming from you- a songwriter whom I deeply respect. Thank you, Admiral.
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 11, 2012 @ 7:24 AM
How much truth in your songs, I like the truth. I really like the reasoning that there are in your songs, Kara!

This new song is delicious! Pungent. I really like the chord progression (beautiful), everything well made, and well performed! Very nice the acceleration near the end, fits very good!
Another great song to play …and remix
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Aug 11, 2012 @ 7:56 AM
Thank you for all of your kind words, DICE! I like being honest in my lyrics… I’m so glad you appreciate my form of reasoning. :)

I truly look forward to hearing what you do with it… I bet you can rock that acceleration at the end!
Anandamine
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 20, 2012 @ 9:21 PM
it’s wonderful to make a song as beautiful and catchy with just a ukulele. There’s only you who can do that Kara
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Aug 21, 2012 @ 7:38 AM
Thank you so much for your super-kind review! I’m so happy that you enjoyed it!
Robert Warrington
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:41 PM
Has all the usual plus points and the uke really seems to suit you. Formbyesque in the best sense ie the breezy charm and optimism belies the underlying skill and artistry.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:14 PM
That’s sure a kind comment! Thankyouthankyouthankyou, Robert. You’re quite eloquent, btw. Such a natural knack at using words…
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 4, 2012 @ 7:09 PM
I am no longer afraid and I have to say this! I was not prepared for the Meow’s and woofs!!!! I was simply not prepared! The the whistle! I was trying to get off the floor when the time change came in! I have no idea what drives that brilliant musical mind of yours but you are so entertaining! Your killing me tonight! Fuck!! Six stars! Is that allowed?
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Sep 5, 2012 @ 1:06 PM
Thank you so much, Steve! Your support is so motivating. I’m thrilled that you find this entertaining… definitely my aim! Thanks again!!!