inTENtions Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Kara Square » Chance » Reviews

Reviews for "Chance"

Chance
by Kara Square
Recommends (29)
Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 12:45 PM
 
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 1:35 PM
You go Girl. Your not taking enough credit..arrangement Producer..lol. This really took off in a very cool direction and was a very welcome surprise! I love it! Ha ha.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 1:40 PM
Well, shucks… :) I’m glad you dig the final version… Really, this wouldn’t exist at all w/o you, so please take your share of the credit. It was a pleasure working with you.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 2:27 PM
You guys sound great together. Fantastic song!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 2:30 PM
Hey FPB- thank you kindly! I heard your remix with this piano sample… very, very cool… considered using part of it with your wailing guitar… but it didn’t quite work with this mood… However, there could always be a more rock-ish version…
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 11:10 PM
Great job – both of you.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 6:08 AM
Thank you, unreal!
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 3:34 AM
Really nice. The pizzicato strings and bass, along with the choppy delivery on the vocals keep this from descending into syrop. The result is perhaps a nice blend of emotions - sadness, and a tinge of fury.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 6:16 AM
Thank you for your kind review, Admiral.
Carosone
.
permalink   Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 10:33 AM
Nice duet, and frankly, your voice is wonderful: if I was Steven, I would have melt.
You stepped in with funny stuff; now you show capable of different registers, good news for the ccmixters!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 11:55 AM
Thank you, Carosone- you’re too kind. I suppose my more serious side was a bit buried in the beginning… I initially thought it would be fun to see what the mixters did with my silly ditties… And, of course, I was delighted to find such amazingly talented folks here (yourself included)… So I had to start posting my other side
Zapac
.
permalink   Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 11:02 AM
Great idea, great implementation. Do you need anything else to a successful project? :)
Nice work, Kara!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 11:58 AM
Dear Zapac- thank you! Very much! Of course, I could only get a cello and bass player… the full orchestra was on holiday… Or perhaps they were busy at your place?
 
.
permalink   Zapac Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 12:14 PM
No rest, for sure! ;)
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 12:00 PM
Oh, surprise, a duet! You’ve really lighten up my evening with this fantastic track!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 1:25 PM
It’s wonderful to hear that! Thank you for listening, donnie.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 1:55 PM
Great moments in this mix. I like.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, May 7, 2011 @ 7:36 AM
Thank you for listening, onlymeith! I’m glad to hear that you like!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, May 8, 2011 @ 3:41 AM
Great duet. You go Girl is right!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, May 8, 2011 @ 8:33 AM
Thank you, texas!
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, May 8, 2011 @ 9:57 AM
THIS IS FREAKIN’ AWESOME! And like that great prophet Wolverine always says “NUFF SAID!”. ;)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, May 8, 2011 @ 1:10 PM
Awww… shucks. Thank you, Mana. It was fun to work on a different style than my usual…
jacindae
.
permalink   Mon, May 9, 2011 @ 8:27 PM
This is not something I would expect to hear from you, Kara. But it’s great! Your voices fit together beautifully, quirky and sweet in all the right ways.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, May 10, 2011 @ 8:41 AM
To be honest, I felt the same way… even as I was singing! It was exciting working w/ Steve in such a very different style… (I was going for a Damien Rice/ Lisa Hannigan feel). Thanks for listening and for your kind words, jacinda.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, May 9, 2011 @ 8:34 PM
It’s been really wonderful to witness your continuing expansive creativity. As always, your voice has a uniquely warm tone that is absolutely lovely.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, May 10, 2011 @ 8:48 AM
Awww… you’re too kind. Thank you, Susan. I really feel like ccM has pushed me to be more creative. I would never have written a song like this on my own… and it was so fun to go in this direction.
copperhead
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 1, 2011 @ 3:21 PM
Very nice duet with Steve, Kara. I missed quite a few remixes here. I didn’t realize you played many instruments. great production too :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Jun 2, 2011 @ 11:20 AM
Thanks for listening and for your kind words, copperhead! The only instruments I openly claim to play are guitar, ukulele, banjo, and trombone… the lil’ flute melody I posted is the only thing I play on the flute. :) As for the stuff in this track, it’s midi… so I suppose I play piano well enough to midi some melodies.
Niemandsland
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 12, 2011 @ 4:46 AM
What a song! The old gray man bows, but only if it is good for you.
I love that song - every other word would rinse my soft feelings.

warmly
Jürgen
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Aug 14, 2011 @ 11:12 AM
Thank you so much, Jürgen! (Most of the credit really belongs to Steve, though. He started the lyrics and melody.) You are so kind! :)
TheDICE
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 29, 2012 @ 8:08 AM
Really a beautiful track, Kara. I liked very much the duet with Steven. Nice melodies in the vocals, loved it. So i cooked an humble ‘n weird “westernpop” (lol i just invented this word) mix. Congrats for your wonderful voices
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Oct 29, 2012 @ 8:46 AM
Thank you, DICE! I had fun singing/writing with Steve. He’s great to work with. I adore your “westernpop” (great word!) remix… esp. that banjo action! I’ll listen again and give ya’ a proper review.