Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip

Reviews for "Brad's Vybe"

Brad's Vybe
by MC Jack in the Box
Recommends (22)
Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 1:14 AM
This upload might be Not Safe For Work
 
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 4:45 AM
Great job - I love the combination of these two vocals, and the orchestration is awesome!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 6:30 AM
Hey man, this is brilliant.

Probably my favourite of your recent uploads.

The beat is certainly the most attractive element for me… that and the guitar chorus, oh and brad’s vocals over the chorus (real nice fit)… ok so there’s too much to mention.

Top 40 me thinks
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 8:08 AM
The sound is powerful but very clean. I love it. Extraordinary listening for me. Very well done.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 10:41 AM
It’s a shame that you probably feel reluctant to play your own songs on your show, because this is another great piece from you worthy of inclusion.
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 11:12 AM
thanks man, for your nice comments and continued support of the show. i think the main reason i don’t want to play my own stuff is because at least for me, it would appear self serving and that’s not the intent nor would i want to give that impression. but thanks for saying that since that’s even better than actually playing it on my show. and thanks to all of you!

i’m kind of thinking about putting together a series of “duets” using brad’s source (which is all killer by the way) and a variety of pellas from the archive. i’m working on something with kaer now. :)
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 3:36 AM
Quote: i think the main reason i don’t want to play my own stuff is because at least for me, it would appear self serving and that’s not the intent nor would i want to give that impression[/quote

I disagree, just because you run the show (btw how hard would it be to get this on iTunes?) doesn’t exclude your talent from the pool you pick from.

Yeah, ok, it would maybe be perceived bias on your part, however maybe a third impartial party(s) should be allowed to choose too? (similar to the editor picks) - Not sure how this would be engineered, but it doesn’t seem quite right excluding your own tracks from the weekly possibility list.
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 10:55 AM
thanks again for the support scott. i suppose i could sneak something on the show “by overwhelming request”, but like i mentioned, i’d feel weird playing my stuff. the show is kind of “my opinion” of what’s cool, and certainly there’s lots of cool music i might not feature for whatever reason. and i think all my remixes are cool or i wouldn’t post them, so rather than hog the limelight, i defer to playing the role of List Jockey. :)
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 11:53 AM
Percussion and spoken word and a solid guitar, leading into a neat little melodic synth line. They all work well together, and then we get a bit of conventional rock riff—understated and thick all at the same time. I like the way the mix has space in it, when it could have been (less effective and) wall of sound-ish. The full-bore synth and guitars melodic bit is nice. Rock/hip hop cross-overs work well so often—and we don’t really hear enough of the good ones like this anymore. I think that’s because the cross-over is a flavor of the month, a way to “get heard”, when instead, like any genre, it’s not important the “style” as much as building a song. I like the contrast between Ms. Vybe and Brad on this one.

The way the piece mixes different ideas and approaches keeps me interested—it would have been too easy to just set up 2 or 3 loops and let them spin out over and over. You do something more creative here.

This is well-mixed—everything integrates nicely and it doesn’t feel gimmicky at all.
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 12:20 PM
thanks robert!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 6:13 PM
Ms. Vybe And Brad Sucks, genius !!!!!
Great Mix!!!! I think you should play it because it is a COOL SONG.
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 6:19 PM
ok maybe. thanks J! :)
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 6:33 PM
Well I’m not an Ed Picker but if I was I would not pick this!

It’s too good for that!! I’d make a new box and let it sit there on it’s own with a big smile on it’s face watching it make a lot of people happy!

Great work and definitely one for your show (No modesty now please!)
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 6:45 PM
oh great, i just left you a wordy, unsolicited, flattering review too. :)

thanks RT.
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 6:51 PM
OK! No Problem.

I lied! It’s rubbish!!:o)
Red Sky Lullaby
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 7:26 PM
This is a decent track
Solid and contagious beat, really like the combination of styles here, definitely something I would not be suprised to hear on the radio
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 11:07 PM
I, strangely enough, had some Brad and Ms M going (different pells) for a bit over here but it ended up all wrong. I luuuuvvv this- it’s crispy and tight. This track makes me think if I were less tragic and more fun m,y mixes would be a helluva a lot better.
Ms.Vybe
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 15, 2008 @ 6:37 PM


Wow, the music is phukkin fantastic! I was rockin the whole way thru…Brad’s vocals are on point, mine are off sync a lil, but when they catch, the shit sounds good. Luv the arrangement, too. Great phukkin job, my dude!

Thx,

Ms.V
KCentric
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 15, 2008 @ 8:27 PM
This is HOT Jax!

A great combination of Brad and Vybe!

EXCELLENT WORK!
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 15, 2008 @ 10:00 PM
Welp, ya done did it again. Everybody else has said it, so just put me down for a “Yeah, me too”!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:37 AM
Perfect mix…!