Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip

Reviews for "Rhapsody in d minor"

Rhapsody in d minor
by Darkroom
Recommends (14)
Sun, Nov 11, 2007 @ 3:35 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 11, 2007 @ 5:58 PM
I love that keyboard progression.
Lovely tune. Great production values. I like the way you make the beats and the jazzy keyboard fit together. Her blues really shine out in this mix.

I love the airy, full feel of the atmospherics of this mix. I love the little snare sound.

I love the way the percussion comes through my headphones. I love the horn-kinda sounds, and the way they’re simple and direct.

This is smooth. Really smooth.
It’s a joy to hear.

The last mix you did, I thought to myself that I offered a critcism or two amid the praise, without ever mentioning how impressed I am with your skills and imagination.
That’s a sad omission, especially when I could not do a candle-power’s worth of your full wattage in your mixes.

But when I hear a mix like this, it’s easy to remedy that directly.

You really bring a flair to what you do here. Great remix.
p.s. could you upload the keyboard piece by itself separately as an addition to your mix?
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Sun, Nov 11, 2007 @ 8:03 PM
Gurdonark, I appreciate the nice review. There is nothing more I appreciate in a review than honesty. That is the least that I ask for. After all, my music is honest. It’s exactly what I am, no more, no less.

Yes, I will upload various parts including the keyboard. Thanks again.

DRoom
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Nov 11, 2007 @ 8:25 PM
I try to be honest about things that, as a listener, would sit better with me, because I find that useful when I myself post mixes. Yet then there’s always the problem of making sure it doesn’t come out all critical-sounding rather than as constructive criticism. So sometimes one balances the scales a bit, I think, but still seeks to say what one thinks.

Thanks about the keyboard! If the keyboard is virtual (it sounds live), then please upload it with as fw fx on it as possible. I want to use it as a synth envelope and the “purer” the better :)
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Sun, Nov 11, 2007 @ 9:13 PM
And that is the art, being constructive. I think you do very well with it.

I am uploading the piano raw, so there are no added effects. Regards.
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 1:48 PM
oh goodness this takes me back to a certain airport lounge where I worked as a singer when I was 19. very cool, modern and old all at the same time.
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 6:51 PM
cool then maybe you can upload some more lyrics like this. I actually had fun making this one =P
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 3:32 PM
this is pure art!! really nice,
odly mastered but still very nice…
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 6:53 PM
I agree, a bit oddly mastered. But I wanna hear your take on why.
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 6:48 PM
I know I am not the one to whom this comment was directed but I figured I’d answer anyway :-). I really like this track except for the location of the drums in the mix. Spacially they are in the front to my ears. That doesn’t feel right. Must drummers sit behind the other instruments in Western music. It is unexpected to hear drums out in front. Just my take.
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 7:15 PM
I also apologize for the fact that my little interjection has nothing to do with the mastering of this track, just some production choices. I’m just wondering if anyone feels the same uneasiness and if that contributes in any way to why some people really like this. After all music doesn’t just exist to make us feel warm and fuzzy all the time.
shagrugge
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 4:05 PM
wow what an incredible take on this…really brings out the soulful melancholy vocal. Masterful arrangement :)
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 6:56 PM
thanks shag.. I appreciate the nice review
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 4:34 PM
Gorgeous..
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 6:56 PM
thanks duckett!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 11:22 PM
Oh yes..! really nice emotion with this one, perfect with her voice (that i love more and more)..
(Did you play yourself the drums..?)
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 9:22 AM
Thanks. Actually the drums were keyboard played on this one. I wanted to use my electric drum set for triggering, but I am rearranging right now.
Incoherent Mumble Train
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 5:33 AM
Darkroom. E-mazing drums. They make the track, even though the chord prog is interesting. It’s the drums that pull the whole thing out of ordinary. You should’ve thrown in a couple of drum fills here and there, but that would’ve only made it cooler. Great job on this track.
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 9:24 AM
Thanks, I appreciate that.

Yeah, my chord progressions are usually anything but ordinary, on purpose of course. We have all heard the ordinary, so I say, why not break free??
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 8:24 PM
Hello!

I just wanted to let you know that I used your song in my Internet radio program “Under the Radar,” featuring songs from CCMixter. At the moment, we’re only broadcasting on-campus, but write back to me (amoolin89@ AT care2.com) if you’d like to be informed when we go public!

Thanks, and keep up the great music!

-Sander M.