inTENtions Remix Event
skip
Home » People » kulimu » Moonfriend » Reviews

Reviews for "Moonfriend"

Moonfriend
by kulimu
Recommends (3)
Mon, Mar 3, 2008 @ 4:08 PM

Uses samples from:

 
fourstones
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 3, 2008 @ 6:22 PM
this isn’t really a genre I’m all that familiar with so take that fwiw - for me the repetitive organ swells are perhaps mixed a little too up front because the percusion stuff and buzzy stuff in the back seem way more interesting to me…
 
.
permalink   kulimu Tue, Mar 4, 2008 @ 12:19 AM
Thanks for the review!

I’m not familiar with doing minimal either :) That’s why I called this ‘experimental’ : I’m not too sure of the result.

I agree the swelling pad seems too loud and becomes annoying, especially if you listen to this at low volume. In fact, for me, this song only works at high volume, because at that point the repetitive synth acquires a groovy hypnotic effect. But maybe I’ll be the only one feeling it that way (and I guess that the track only sounding ‘good’ at high volume is not a very good sign…)

I really appreciate your input fourstones!
s.c.mixer
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 4, 2008 @ 6:08 PM
I like the mix, but I find the vocals too dry; I would have used some effects on them.
And to be honest, I don’t think it is minimal (*) at all… :P
And I find the intro too long…
And… well. :)

————
(*) Minimal in the genre sense, not in the count of elements used.
 
.
permalink   kulimu Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 1:03 AM
I love your honest reviews s.c.mixer! I can’t agree more on the points you make.

So it’s not your favorite ccmixter track then? :)
gurdonark
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 4, 2008 @ 8:00 PM
The glitch-beat gets us going with an interesting sound. The bpm of the early going surprises me as being a bit slow, not that I mind slow at all, but here it emphasizes the computer-music-y aspect of your work (which may fit the lyrics, for that matter). I like the wash of backing you get going around 1.30. The electronica touches around 1.45 aren’t really grabbing me. This slower bpm use of techno touches doesn’t quite work for me, although I can understand why you went this way with this vocal. I do like the way you’ve got the vocal set into the mix—it sounds good. My mp3 player this past year seems to have a lot of minimal electronica/techno, and I rather like the genre. Here, though the tag says 125 bpm (and I’m sure it is around that), it doesn’t have the excitement I look for in this type of work. I suggest it might work better as a 160 or 180 speed with with a very minimal beats section during the spoken section. Also, a few sound fx might work in this mix. It’s interesting as it is, and certainly a decent listen, but it might work a bit better with a bit more excitement in it.
 
.
permalink   kulimu Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 1:25 AM
Thanks for the long review Gurdonark. It’s always very usefull to get detailed feedback on all the elements of a track.

I think the bpm is 128, but it’s halved for most of the track. I kind of like the slow pulse (the faster section doesn’t work too well in fact).

But I’ve just listened to it at 170bpm as you advised, and I think there’s some potential… The swelling pad does seem more interesting at that speed. Thanks for the idea.
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 6:11 AM
Hi Kulimu
Thanx for the comment first of all!!!

I really like the minimal and dark feel for this one!

George
 
.
permalink   kulimu Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 6:41 AM
Thanks for replying to my review in this way! :)

But I’m not sure I deserve much praise for this one…

Were you sincere? ;-)
 
.
permalink   George_Ellinas Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 7:00 AM
Always sincere with my comments Kulimu!!!
I don’t like telling people what they should have done or if you do this it will come out like this i only comment about the feel of the track
i live the rest to your ears to decide what it will work better for you not becouse someone else is telling how is should be
George
All the best to you
 
.
permalink   kulimu Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 7:46 AM
Well thanks for the nice words then! Sorry for doubting :)

I sincerely think both approaches are right when it comes to commenting on somebody’s mix.

On the one hand, it’s really great to hear what your track makes people feel. Sometimes it’s even some feelings you weren’t aiming for, which is great.

But on the other hand, it’s also interesting to get some specifics about what those people would try if they were in charge. Some advice on ccmixter really made me progress, even in the way I appreciate my own music. Sometimes the advice just doesn’t fit with the personal vision you had for the track, but they’re still worth reading, that’s for sure!