Break the Silence Event
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Picnic » Reviews

Reviews for "Picnic"

Picnic
by gurdonark
Recommends (0)
Mon, Jul 3, 2006 @ 7:28 AM
 
lo tag blanco
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 3, 2006 @ 10:40 AM
you got me at the beat, but lost me when the lead came in

maybe it’s just because i expect things to make sense, and you’ve made a hobby of challenging that type of assumption

when that pause happens at 1:15 and everything comes back in, i’m with it again… i think it’s because that guitar line is rougher, and matches the piece better

well done
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jul 3, 2006 @ 11:10 AM
I like both the beat (from the time I morphed the sample a bit) and the Tapsa line, so I decided to merge them—I think that the second “section” at 1:15 is integrated a bit more, although it’s not such a vivid use of the guitar, and I enjoy the guitar.

It’s an imperfect mix, but I enjoyed doing it, and I’m glad to get your critique. Thanks.
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 3, 2006 @ 11:40 AM
Nice decontruction of an immaginative hard rock song…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Jul 4, 2006 @ 6:54 AM
Thanks!
fourstones
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 3, 2006 @ 5:07 PM
um, lo tag wrote my review lol

it’s ok to experiment but I don’t think you’ve quite maserterd the guitar rock thing as much as the ambient and downtempo stuff.

There’s about 45 sec. in the intro that is perfectly cinematic and could just drop into a soundtrack. After that BIG solo comes in it falls the rails (for me anyway).

I don’t know how to get more specific than your expert “touch” with the other genres is missing here.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Jul 4, 2006 @ 6:55 AM
Have to agree. Love guitar rock, but it’s not really my thing. It’s good to experiment, to expand skills, but there’s no doubt that ambient is much more what I can do.
duncan_beattie
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 11, 2006 @ 4:24 AM
It does make me wonder what kind of brownies Gurd serves up at his picnic ;)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Sep 12, 2006 @ 7:36 AM
I do vaguely worry, sometimes, that my unaltered state always seems to draw the drug reference :)
 
.
permalink   duncan_beattie Tue, Sep 12, 2006 @ 9:50 AM
I wouldn’t worry too much, just think Frank Zappa and the 200 Motels film