Listen to Hidden Treasures Remixes!
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Gulf » Reviews

Reviews for "Gulf"

Gulf
by gurdonark
Recommends (21)
Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 9:33 PM
Play Gulf

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 10:23 PM
Suitably sad.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:24 PM
thank you. that’s what I hoped for—to be suitably sad.
cagey_house
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 4:15 AM
This is really beautiful, Bob. I love the gentle dissonances, and the way it kind of undulates.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:25 PM
Thanks, Dave, I got enchanted by the idea of going for something which uses minimal repetition and dissonances to achieve an emotional center.
panu
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 6:13 AM
you & oberon kenobi formed a beautiful bond together on this piece. it bespeaks mastery over one’s creative impulses & great respect for one’s collaborators. in short, quite the memorable track.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:25 PM
Oberon provided a vocal sample with rich terms intoned in very useful ways, and I had the easy part of putting it to song. Thanks for your kind review.
oberonskye
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 6:53 AM
I can’t think of a better use of my words. I live in St. Petersburg and wake up every day with the pain of what is happening in the Gulf. Thank-you for your lament.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:26 PM
I hope that Florida—and as many other places as possible—are spared.
Thanks for posting your vocal, which was very useful for remixing.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 8:04 AM
When big things happen, it is natural to want to somehow make sense of the feelings that are engendered by such events. Sound, music and language here explore some of that experience with unexpected turns and pointed phrases. Thoughtful and thought provoking.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:27 PM
Thanks. I am not often “topical”, but sometimes a topic is easy to use to access where one is trying to get.
timberman
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 11:24 AM
This piece really evokes a lot of emotions. Wonderful work.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:27 PM
Thanks, P. I like to try to use the instrumental track to find emotions.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 12:15 PM
Yes, minimalist, but at the same time great and colossal in its power to convey emotion.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:28 PM
Many thanks. I love the way that spaces between notes have an emotional core.
essesq
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 5:20 PM
Very thought provoking. The words are remarkably appropriate for the subject, the treatments and variety of soundscapes like the changing seascape through which the oil inexorably travels.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:28 PM
Thanks. When I realized how well the words could be edited, I was so happy with the sample.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 8:56 AM
You and Oberon create a stark beauty with this piece. It gives the listener the space to think and feel deeply. xxxx
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 8:28 PM
many thanks! oberon’s piece really gave me a lot with which to work.