Us Universe Remixes
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Glow » Reviews

Reviews for "Glow"

Glow
by gurdonark
Recommends (20)
Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 4:59 AM
Play Glow
 
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 8:21 AM
I like this. I like the hints of rhythm and structure that come and go and the slightly detuned pad works wonders for me.

The “soundtrack” tag rarely saw a better fit.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 11:02 AM
It’s fun to use “detune” and other shifts to make a pre-set less presetual. Thanks for commenting!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 9:11 AM
Oh! There are just such lovely sounds all mixed up in here — as you suggest, like fireflies, which in my mind’s eye have just been released and are glowing with happiness; that is, if fireflies were capable of emotionally laden glows, of course! The trumpet is so well used (as are all the other sounds, I must add)! I loved listening.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 11:02 AM
Thanks! I enjoyed creating this one. Horns make a nice contrast with ambient sections, I think, and these horn samples were great.
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:01 PM
very, very nice musically & production is equally as good. this would be a great candidate for the dalai lama’s i-pod.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 11:03 AM
The Dalai Lama’s iPod is no doubt a cool place. Thanks for the kind words about this little piece.
ditsychick6
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:50 PM
I agree with panu moon! This is soothing and wonderful to listen to. (Had a stressful day and it all just melted away.) God knows how much I miss fireflies! When I was a kid, we used to drive a nail through the lid of a mayonnaise jar to make air holes and run around barefoot in the dark catching fireflies to put them in the jar, watch them glow and then let them all fly away. Best of all, for us Yankees at least, was to drive country roads at night and come across a cornfield just covered in fireflies. It looked like a sea of stars. The software recommendations are very much appreciated—as are developers who make software available at low cost to help us make more music. I’ll be back to hear more…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 11:04 AM
I was so delighted when it turned out we have a modest assortment of fireflies in the local park. It’s like re-connecting with something important for me. Cornfields full of fireflies—what a great visual!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 9, 2009 @ 7:39 AM
A beautiful piece. Just magical.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 11:05 AM
Thank you, very much. It was fun to work with these samples.
duckett
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 9, 2009 @ 11:10 AM
It does have that summer-evening feel to it; the more reverb-laden treatment works very well with the theme- and yes, the trumpet was well-chosen. (ignoring certain spontaneous feeble attempts at humor made elsewhere *cough*)
HEJ31
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 10, 2009 @ 2:55 PM
I particularly like that this almost sounds like a live group improv. King Crimson jamming with Mark Isham and keeping it minimal.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 17, 2009 @ 3:28 PM
http://jobobarikan.devianta...

used it Robert!

thanx!
jb