Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip

Reviews for "The Theologian Dreams of Stars"

The Theologian Dreams of Stars
by gurdonark
Recommends (18)
Sun, Dec 21, 2008 @ 6:05 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
essesq
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 21, 2008 @ 11:49 AM
Nice setting for a wonderful reading. Of course your notes are thoughtful and informative as always Mr. G. The piece has a twinkling aspect to it that fits the image of stars. We have ice on our trees today and now that the sun has come out there is a similar twinkling in the sky in day time.

I am intrigued by your discussion of the programming language. I love the images you have created, I’ve seen some of them via a prior link you posted. Thinking of my little pang of desire to plunge myself into yet another learning project I am reminded of all the things I wish I could learn to do, but I also would like to actually become proficient (if not expert) at something, so I try not to spread myself too thin :-).

Lastly I would like to echo your comment about mixter, although possibly from a different angle. I love this place because it is a home for every possible kind of sonic adventure, from the hookiest pop classic to the strangest and most bizarre sonic smorgasbord, from the spoken word to the sung. Here there is a producer and an ear for everything, and I hope it shall always remain so.
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 22, 2008 @ 7:28 AM
Very pretty mix, beautifully restrained and carefully-made, and a wonderful setting for narva9’s poem.

I agree with what you said about her “getting” the site - her song “Don Quixote” was one of the first things I ever heard on ccmixter.org. I remember writing to ask her permission to use it in a soundtrack I was working on at the time, thinking to myself, “This can’t possibly be completely free to use - there must be some catch.” That happy disbelief and the feeling that came when it was proven wrong - when she said that absolutely, I could use it however I wanted - has set the tone for this entire site, and made it my favorite place on the Web.

Not to mention a fellow named Gurdonark’s poetically-written review of the very first Do Kashiteru piece we ever uploaded, “A Midsummer Night’s Dream…” :D

Nice work.
 
.
permalink   narva9 Tue, Dec 23, 2008 @ 3:01 PM
Aww, I am blushing to the roots of my hair. Thank you. ccMixter is my favourite place on the net too…cause everyone here is awesome!


n9
shagrugge
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 23, 2008 @ 11:12 AM
enjoy the unique melodic aspects of this mix. Your mixes never cease to excite the auditory nerve centers sir.
narva9
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 23, 2008 @ 3:07 PM
Thank you G for including me in your composition. This is absolutely beautiful. Full of tweeks, buzzes, space and silence. I love the combination of organic and non.

n9
PS - all the best to you and yours this holiday season:-)
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 11, 2009 @ 2:20 PM
Hey Tex!
http://jobobarikan.devianta...
Happy Easter Red Baron
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Apr 11, 2009 @ 2:43 PM
that’s great! I thank you, and the biplane overhead thanks you.