Adaptation Remix Event Extended
skip

Reviews for "Too Many Clowns, Not Enough Car"

Too Many Clowns, Not Enough Car
by gurdonark
Recommends (5)
Sat, Feb 23, 2008 @ 1:22 AM
 
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 23, 2008 @ 12:15 PM
Ok this is super kooky, and I have to say as a lover of toy horns and goat bleats, it really was right up my alley. I guess I wanted it to move into something a little heavier, or at least kept waiting for it to do so and maybe that was your point.However, the next time I have too much champagne and am wearing a pair of really high heels and decide to grab a tricycle from a random yard, and ride it, this will definitely be the soundtrack for that moment!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Feb 23, 2008 @ 5:38 PM
Thanks for commenting. I agree with you—it needs something more fun to leaven it out over 3 minutes—perhaps a break into something faster or heavier or a change of direction altogether.
It is a bit of whimsy I put together, as I am very fond of light-hearted material. My music lately has not been as dark or complex, which makes me want ot go back to a different kind of mixing.

I hope it makes its way into a carnival or circus-themed youtube :).

I appreciate the review.

You’ve done some interesting mixes lately, so I wanted to mention that L7’s Donita Sparks has some remixable stems from her new song up at:

http://donitasparks.cashmus...

I remixed them, coming up with a rather pedestrian but quirky mix, but as I sat here, but I mention it to you because I’ll bet you can take these straight-ahead rock stems and post something really fun at her site.
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 24, 2008 @ 12:23 PM
Well, for me it’s excellent like that..nothing to add..really..
I love the atmosphere..magic..
Ruggea
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 26, 2008 @ 4:15 AM
I love the ease of joy that comes from listening to this mix… which is saying something… since I was scarred for life by watching IT when I was 3.. clowns (I shiver).. but the music wins out (I smile)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 10, 2008 @ 7:54 PM
Clowns scar so manay people. Me, I was afraid of monsters on a cartoon called Jonny Quest. Thanks for commenting!
duckett
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 7, 2008 @ 10:34 PM
Why do I find find myself remembering the ‘70’s Sesame Street segment involving the Ringling Bros. clown car, and a count from 1-10 and back again, by clowns? Gee, I have no idea ;-)
(In those days, it was still considered normal and acceptable for the truth of childhood to simultaneously combine fear and wonderment…)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 10, 2008 @ 7:53 PM
I love clown car scenes. I was surprised to learn they only date from the 1950s. It’s as if the 30s and 40s were an artless, futile loneliness. Thanks for listening!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 20, 2008 @ 6:00 AM
There is a delicate fingerprint to your work.

Like a childs painting. Innocent and pure. Colourful and entwined not caring where the grass ends or the river begins.

Not worrying too much if the yellow sun ball bleeds into the clouds.

Delightful.

Hard to explain but there is a very European quality about a lot of what you do.

And often i think they would be excellent soundscapes for animators.

By the way nice picture, nice to see you. I should get one just like it :-)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Mar 21, 2008 @ 2:58 AM
Thank you for your kind and allusive review. I’m quite taken with the child’s painting simile.

I like to go to last.fm to see who is actually listening to my songs. Over and over I find that eastern Europeans are in my “top listeners” list—whereas I noticed this week that your list had 2 Americans and a Frenchman.

I don’t put myself in that league, but I love the jazz made by Europeans in “non-traditional” jazz countries—like Magnatune.com’s Eternal Jazz Project, from Sweden. I like the sense that these artists invent their genre anew, coming at it from a distance, as it were. I’d love to make music with that same freshness.

I liked that you put your picture up. I thought it would be fun to put mine up. I keep meaning to get my wife, who is talented at such things, to take a proper picture for music purposes, but I make do with DIY until I remember to get that done.

It’s fun that you mention about animation as a project I’m doing for a friend now is to soundtrack his animated short-in-progress. It’s fun to try to do music outside of my usual grooves for someone. I’d love to improve my own animation skills to do more films of my own, as I see my music as atmosphere and backing rather than as center-stage.

Quote: LoveshadowThere is a delicate fingerprint to your work.

Like a childs painting. Innocent and pure. Colourful and entwined not caring where the grass ends or the river begins.

Not worrying too much if the yellow sun ball bleeds into the clouds.

Delightful.

Hard to explain but there is a very European quality about a lot of what you do.

And often i think they would be excellent soundscapes for animators.

By the way nice picture, nice to see you. I should get one just like it :-)
Songboy3
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 20, 2008 @ 7:11 AM
VERY nice….
I love the tick-tock tick-tock of it! I’m reminded of my daughter - when she is playing, she’ll sometime sing some lil’ piece of nursery rhyme to herself as she rocks back & forth in time to it.

*sigh*

VERY nice……
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Mar 21, 2008 @ 2:59 AM
That tick-tock, children’s song fun is just what I aimed for here, so I’m particularly grateful for your review which mentions those ideas. Thank you.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 20, 2008 @ 7:06 PM
just the sheer number of samples you used here speaks to the amount of work that must have been involved putting this together. wacky and crazy, and i love reading what you wrote as the music plays in the background. it’s like a soundtrack to the story.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Mar 21, 2008 @ 3:00 AM
This type of mix does take a bit of time to construct, with the samples insertion. It’s fun, though, to look in freesound and see what amazing things one can stumble into there. Thanks for the review!