inTENtions Remix Event
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Jodsong » Reviews

Reviews for "Jodsong"

Jodsong
by gurdonark
Recommends (6)
Mon, Jan 7, 2008 @ 5:24 AM
 
narva9
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 7, 2008 @ 8:27 PM
Very much enjoyed this mix. Soothing yet informative. Thank you :)

n9
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 7:28 PM
thank you so much! I keep meaning to remix your spoken word track—but perhaps you’ll write a new one and post it or send it to me, as “autumn” has already gotten some very nice mixes.
 
.
permalink   narva9 Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 8:30 PM
Hmmmm? I’ll have to check my book…Do you have a particular theme in mind?

As for Autumn (as well as all our other tracks) the mixters have been nothing short of awesome!!!!

Cheers,
n9
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 8:50 PM
Because my work so often is fairly low bpm, I enjoy doing spoken word pieces with pauses and a spirited but not melodramatic delivery which tell a vignette or set an image up in mid-air, to hover.
When I write poetry myself, it tends to be poetry about not very much in particular.

If you’re game, record something that’s original and “you”, and I’ll write one of my tinkertoy melodies or perhaps insidious drones, and we’re off to the races!
I won’t even try to compete with the wonderful mixes of Autumn or your other ‘pellas, but I’ll instead make something fragile and individual.
duckett
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 6:00 PM
Being a bit of an astronomy geek, I had to enjoy the baaaing and braying over the discussion on how much of the sun’s light reaches the Earth’s surface… considering how many of us are awakened by an alarm clock, rather than sunrise, in today’s world… a nice warm tongue-in-cheek astronomy introduction for all, percieved irony or not…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 7:27 PM
The Jodcast is a wonderful place if you’re an astronomy geek. It’s pitched just right—solid information but not too jargon or “gee, let me show you the math” driven. The links alone on the jodcast page to other podcasts are worth the price of free Creative Commons admission.

I love those sheep. I’m not afraid to use them :).

Thanks for your kindness in this review.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 7:42 PM
‘Tis not a kindness, considering the lack of savagery my efforts have not been subjected to. As odd as it may seem, I have always loved the “here-it-is” accessability of your remixes- brains, yet w/o the intellectual snobbery. Woo-hoo! Learning is a GOOD thing, folks… curiosity won’t kill ya, despite proverbs to the contrary, give it a whirl… screw what the Joneses say!
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 6:44 PM
This is pretty nice, a pretty solid arrangement with some good fx and some vocal samples throughout it that reminded me of a classic Dr. Who episode.

But, that’s just me.

I like the arrangement and it’s quite different and an enjoyable listen at this. Good stuff indeed.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 6:51 PM
Thanks for the review. I love the idea of a classic Dr. Who episode.

I tend to see my work as backing which serves an image or a narration. In this one, I wanted to show off what gave me simple delight in a half-hour podcast that enchanted me. The Jodcast is a wonderful Creative Commons resource, and I hope I have given it a nice framing for others to enjoy it,too.
essesq
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 12, 2008 @ 7:56 PM
Great bit of work, Gurdonark. I think you’ve captured the feeling of the idea of a podcast ( I don’t listen to them myself on an iPod ) but I imagine, hopping through the bits of information maybe only listening to a bit of each at a time, but better than flipping through tv channels because you’ve actually chosen everything on there.

I like the choices of music and sounds, a soundtrack to a soundtrack. The piece is well organized and well produced sonically. My only gripe, and it is said with a giggle, is that Cheshire, the county in the UK that is home to Jodrell Bank is a dairy county, so the livestock choice of sheep and what sounded like donkeys, was a little off :-]. Hey you’ll know for next time, and really you can’t go wrong with me throwing in farm animals (don’t take that the wrong way….)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 22, 2008 @ 5:18 PM
love the backing mix, especially the goats. i wish the vocals actually had a bit more reverb, to kind of give the feeling of space… :)