Snow & Sleet Secret Mixter Upload Day!
skip

Reviews for "The House on Landsford Drive"

The House on Landsford Drive
by gurdonark
Recommends (4)
Sun, Oct 28, 2007 @ 4:14 PM

Samples are used in:

Podcast: Tokyo Calling by Scott Lo
 
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 29, 2007 @ 6:00 AM
Very pleasant and it’s the first time that i hear you using a drums. The construction of this piece, only instrumental, is surprising but it stays coherent.. I’m always curious and interested by your work. Your very personal approach of the music and your work around the sound is enriching for all the others musicians. Your remix doesn’t resemble to any other one…Great..!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 1, 2007 @ 3:27 AM
Thank you for your comment. I often prefer to work without beats, but it is fun sometimes to do something different. I’m grateful for your kindness in listening and reviewing.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 29, 2007 @ 8:09 AM
Nice soundscape! I like the way you combine ambient and ethnic elements, hold together with this fade in-fade out drumloop.
While I am sitting at my desk, it entertains, qualms down and gives me inspiration though. A surprising and interessting musical idea.

T O P!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 1, 2007 @ 3:28 AM
Thank you. I wanted to combine ambient and tribal elements with the drumloops to create a song which was not itself a house song as a kind of left-handed homage to house. I’m grateful that you gave it a listen and shared your kind review.
oldDog
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 30, 2007 @ 5:45 AM
Great! A slightly new side of your musical character (to me at least), but with that open quality that you always have.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 1, 2007 @ 3:29 AM
Thanks! I work as best as I can within my feeble limitations, but I enjoy making songs with great samples like these.
essesq
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 15, 2007 @ 2:12 PM
Really neat collage of sounds here, especially the more organic ones (flute, the metallic sounds, etc). I love the poem too. Very nice work, wonder what would have happened if you gave it some more time (as in length of the piece) to develop. I think it could have become a little more than it wound up as.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 16, 2007 @ 2:15 AM
Thanks. I think you’re right that this one might have benefitted from being longer. Although I sometimes create work which fits the ambient type as being long-ish ( http://www.negativesoundins... )

I tend to get on a theme lately which I think of as the “Ramones” theme. It goes something like “if the Ramones could so so much in 2 or 3 minutes, so can I”.

I wonder if the mp3 player movement has influenced me, because one thing that I notice is that I like the constant variation that shorter songs on my mp3 player offer. Yet, there’s nothing quite as much fun as when an ambiemt piece I enjoy, such as Peter Koniuto’s ambient album Past Andromeda (a free download at http://www.stasisfield.com )
accompanies an otherwise quiet hike at its full 55 minutes of glory.

Thanks for the constructive criticism, which helps.