Secretly Mixing! Snow & Sleet
skip

Reviews for "White Cube Art Noise"

White Cube Art Noise
by essesq
Recommends (16)
Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 7:06 PM

Uses samples from:

 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 7:20 PM
Once in Autumn I drove a country highway in the foothills of the Ouachita Mountains, when I came upon a herd of tarantulas, crossing the road. This was a surreal experience, like something from a lost Bunel film—the sort of thing you wonder later might have been a literal dream. I read up and found that seeing a fall migration was not unheard [un-herd] of at all, but a rare but palpable natural thing.

This soundscape could soundtrack any similarly breathtaking visual experience. I hope that someone on youtube or vimeo or blip.tv puts this to great use.

I woke up recently to a mackerel sky, an unexpected colored scaling of the clouds. Here, too, your atmospheres have cool contours and unexpected divergences.

Thanks very much for this piece, which I just love.
 
.
permalink   essesq Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 7:31 PM
You are most welcome oh weirdbient one. I made it with you in mind so this was the review I needed :-).

And I must say for a fluffy dog you are most articulate and imaginative.

Then again I suppose I’m not an iron dome ;-).
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 7:51 PM
Speaking of mackerel skies, have you seen this one?

http://www.youtube.com/watc...

My fluffy dog Teddy (now age 15)
is my better self, I reckon.

I began to use the term “weirdbient’ in 2002, when a day of recording with ambient aims generated instead something a little….weird. Yet the label still seems to work, even when i can be more ambient if need be.

Have you heard deepspace? He’s an Australian fellow who does long=form light ambient in the CC. You can find him lots of places, but last.fm is where I find him myself. He’s not “weirdbient’ at all,and when I hear his “real” ambience, I realized why i use the term i do.
 
.
permalink   essesq Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 8:08 PM
Yes I did stumble across the aforementioned clip in one of my …”gee where is my stuff on the Internet” searches a little while back. I didn’t get a trackback but I’ll forgive him :-).

I like the word weirdbient. At first I wasn’t so sure but it suits your stuff in a good way. Ambient is a genre term that ideally should not tell you at all what you are getting. Personally I find it meaningless and only use it as a matter of convention.

I don’t use last.fm at all. I think I have heard of deepspace (and no not in the astronomical sense, duh). Has he done anything commercial or better known? I wonder if he turned up on one of the regular radio shows I occasionally listen to. I will check him out. And again…thanks for the lovely review :-).
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 8:24 PM
I am finding lately that I get a lot of airplay from last.fm. It’s really expanded my listener base, as well as giving rise to the perpetual question “where did this woman from Estonia hear about my music”?

I love the internet:
http://www.flickr.com/photo...
spinmeister
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 8:55 PM
Now that you two finally seem to have finished your little conversation, I’m just trying to get a short word in: This is just a perfect remix of the Gurdonark samples! And now we have two people who make weirdbent music! You gotta love it!
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 1:02 PM
Finished? Are you kidding? You can’t let the other lawyer have the last word :-).

As for making weirdbient music…there is only one Gurdonark, I am but a cheap imitation.

But thank you. I have discovered one way to learn how to produce music is to understand how others do it. Getting the real McCoy’s stamp of approval was a real joy in my attempt to make what he does my own.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 5:53 AM
the answer is still 41
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 1:03 PM
You need a new calculator…or set of reading glasses….:-)
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 1:28 PM
You should’nt dismiss answers to questions you have not asked yet.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 1:32 PM
sacrilege! I demand an inquisition!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 1:45 PM
Nobody expects the Spanish Inquistion!
http://www.youtube.com/watc...
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 1:57 PM
vee have veys to make you tohk!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 8:31 AM
I love all the spice you added so that while your mix remains ambient it has added flavor and texture. It’s delicious! And I am so glad that you are a part of The White Cube Remix Project!
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 1:06 PM
Thank you Ms. Proprietress of the Mixin Kitchen. I recommend a nice rich Zinfandel to warm the air with this icy inspired mix.