inTENtions Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "Sick (Fever Dreaming mix)"

Sick (Fever Dreaming mix)
by duckett
Recommends (21)
Mon, Oct 19, 2009 @ 12:51 PM

Samples are used in:

 
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 19, 2009 @ 12:58 PM
Hmm. I’m torn because the 6/4 vocals are forced fit into a 4/4 structure which throws me off a bit.

If you instead chopped up the vocal phrases and triggered on a 4/4 grid it could work better.

I love the backing track though. Very, very excellent. Would you consider uploading separately?
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Oct 19, 2009 @ 1:18 PM
I seem to remember a similar review by you of my “It’s Still Music” remix re: clashing time signatures ;-)
In this case, it was a choice to reinforce the hazy mood of the lyrics/melody- sorry if it throws you off. However, I can certainly upload an instrumental version. Thanks for the lightning-fast review!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 19, 2009 @ 3:46 PM
Hey duckett, I write this review while I´m enjoying the mix. I like what I´m hearing. As I´m writing in English very slowly, I had to press the button play several times. What delight to my ears
drive on the wayside
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 19, 2009 @ 4:19 PM
Having not heard the original song the 6/4 vocals came from it sounds quite natural as is. Quite perfect in fact. This is a beautiful remix my friend. Very chill, very pleasant, very grooving, very haunting. I loves it. :-)
panu
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 19, 2009 @ 7:15 PM
oh, most favored of the feathered mixers. i can see you’re on a major 120BPM hunt. i’m stayin’ well out the way. real good track, man.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 20, 2009 @ 12:18 AM
6/4, 4/4, 6/8, 15/7, 9/6, ..what ever the signature is, it works for me. The bt is really beautiful. What I like mostly on it is, that you can_t identify all the stuff that is running there, but the melange of it sounds so emotional and pumping against the fragile vocals.
Really cool track!
Javolenus
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 20, 2009 @ 6:36 AM
Yeah, I think it works. Very creative and interesting - had me listening right till the end. Nice one.
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 20, 2009 @ 12:57 PM
Ah here’s proof that listening to my uploads leads to madness ;-).

I listened to this on my laptop speakers right after I got the upload notice and I couldn’t make head nor tail of it, BUT…today on headphones it is very satisfying. A slightly bizarre mash but quite effective.

Funny thing is I couldn’t tell you for sure if my track is really 120 BPM or not. I just typed in what the GB project window had in it. I started the mix so long ago I don’t know if I set it or if it defaulted there. 120 is a nice tempo for finding samples though. Some of these odd ducks out there (present company excepted, you are “the” duck) with their weird tempos make it hard for some of us to find stuff to work with.

I am quite pleased to have provided a bit of inspiration. Thanks for sharing :-).