Us Universe Remixes
skip
Home » People » duckett » The Rainy Season » Reviews

Reviews for "The Rainy Season"

The Rainy Season
by duckett
Recommends (5)
Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 8:45 AM
 
Alan Lu
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 4:25 PM
I don’t know what to call it either. Definitely out there. Like the subdued beat that crawls up on you behind that wall of rain.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 5:30 PM
Well, never let it be said that I play it safe ;-)
I love the ability of some ambient and spoken-word pieces to create a vivid mental image, and of course I love the way a solid beat will hitch the mind to a journey through time… though this may not be exquisitely successful, I thought I might try letting the ambient/vocal stuff dominate the listener’s location cues, and have the beat stay relatively center and kinda submerged, slowly swelling back to front to back again.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 30, 2008 @ 6:30 PM
Good original idea and its great to see more people being adventurous here. I like a lot of what I listen to at CCM but for me its a place to experiment. What I really want to know though is have you fixed that “dribbling faucet”!!:)
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Apr 30, 2008 @ 8:07 PM
No… ever since Tricky Dick, I have an irrational fear of “plumbers”; I guess I’m doomed to a soggy, damp absence of sensible self-restraint ;-)
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 11:51 AM
Cool experimental nature.
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 7:20 PM
Thanks- It’s nice to know that even my more out-there musical excursions get some love ;-)
AT
.
permalink   Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 8:36 PM
Cool Duckett, now its a bit late and maybe i’m tired but for some reason I got an alternate universe Gene Kelly doing a stumbly drug induced variation of singing in the rain thing going on in my head.
Enjoyed it—thanks
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 10:00 PM
Well, hey- as long as it gave you some kind of positive vibe, to inspire you to rate/review!…
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Fri, May 2, 2008 @ 4:51 PM
Whoah neat…didn’t think anyone would ever use that spoken word. A friend told me it was “too weird”.
Guess not for my man duckett! I like
the song…..surreal and creepy.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, May 2, 2008 @ 8:31 PM
Glad you like it! “Too weird” isn’t in my vocabulary; some folks give me a hard time because I’ll do “catchy” stuff, as well as more “experimental” material. It’s OK to like Scratch Acid, Randy Newman, KRS-ONE, and John Cage at the same time, really…
;-)