Join Us Under the Tree - Add Your Musical Gift
skip

Reviews for "The Complete Sigmund Freud Ballads"

The Complete Sigmund Freud Ba...
by Anchor
Recommends (20)
Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 3:19 AM
 
urmymuse
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 3:46 AM
Hi Anchor

You have achieved your aim - these three songs are at once hilarious, poignant and full of pathos

Really great writing, brilliant, made my monday :)
 
.
permalink   Anchor Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:08 PM
Thanks for that!
Speck
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:31 AM
As a big fan of poignant humor this is quite a treat. When I first heard (and downloaded) those piano pieces I thought hmm.. beautiful, wonder who’d utilize them… maybe Anchor? I was thinking your cello but this is, well, an unexpected pleasure.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:10 PM
Funnily enough - I thought - You would be someone who would find these piano pieces fertile!
Thank you!
 
.
permalink   Speck Tue, Sep 25, 2012 @ 6:40 AM
Hah, yeah, when I wrote ‘wonder who’d utilize them’ I meant besides me.
Thanks for inspiring me to do it now while they’re still fresh among my sample downloads, and in my head.
And of course thanks for the White In The Moon vocals.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:18 AM
Should be in a play, Anchor - it is narrative, witty, and quite beautiful. This would be perfect in a topical musical.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:10 PM
appreciate the review Admiral!
oberonskye
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:32 AM
Delightful homage to the “Song Cycles.” I was transported to a grand salon where tuxedos were evening wear, not formal. And behind the civilized posturing…these urges. A great musical adventure…thanks! And your vocals-enough said. Well done.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:11 PM
“civilized posturing” - well said. Many thanks.
Cis_Minor
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 12:59 PM
Haha, this is hilarious!!! I feel honored that you chose my music for this gorgeous piece full of irony, depth and pathos … thank you!
 
.
permalink   Anchor Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:13 PM
I was pretty damn excited when I first listened to these piano uploads. They called out to me and I wanted to claim them and explore their musical territory. Cheers to you Peter!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:57 PM
Theatrical 4 sure, Anchor Jeff
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Sep 19, 2012 @ 5:29 AM
Thanks for the visitation!
Numeron
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:35 PM
I’m really pleased to see these fantastic piano pieces have finally found a home - great songwriting, and the whole piece would make a great live theatre performance
 
.
permalink   Anchor Tue, Sep 18, 2012 @ 6:17 AM
thanks for the listen and review!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 18, 2012 @ 3:29 AM
Yes these piano pieces are very nice and I’m glad to see they have been put to good use.

Bit of McArthur Park meets Bertie Wooster for me and very good for it. Nice to see you’re back to uploading some of your clever stuff again.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Tue, Sep 18, 2012 @ 6:18 AM
Thanks RT ! always enjoy your insights and comments.
Still doing much traveling - but its always a pleasure to revisit ccmixter and hear the great sources of creativity on site and to participate when I am able.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:05 PM
Smile inducing from beginning to end! It’s such a delightful treat to hear your stand-out, expressive, bold, rich voice singing these brilliantly amusing lyrics. Swoooooon! And a big hug to you- I’ve missed ya’ in these parts!
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Sep 19, 2012 @ 5:28 AM
Thank You my sweet -
I appreciate your review and sentiments!
annabloom
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 24, 2012 @ 4:10 PM
fantastic: humour and music. dada lives on. ultima cigaretta
 
.
permalink   Anchor Tue, Oct 2, 2012 @ 12:48 PM
many thanks for your observations. dAdA YeS !
VickyDan
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 3, 2012 @ 4:06 AM
Quite a style that shows your sensitivity, your personality …. In summary, your talent if particular ….