Perspectives Playlist at Art Gallery Oct 12
skip
Home » People » Vidian » Unsaid » Reviews

Reviews for "Unsaid"

Unsaid
by Vidian
Recommends (13)
Mon, May 25, 2009 @ 4:54 PM
 
colab
.
permalink   Mon, May 25, 2009 @ 8:14 PM
I rather like this. I think it’s one of your best - the pieces fit together really well in a coherent whole.

 
.
permalink   Vidian Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 8:38 AM
Wow.. Thanks! I understand I have you partly to thank for the piano sample huh? I’m going to fix that now.

One of my best? really?? That means a lot! You know, this song had a kind of sad air to it but not completely. I really had my emotions to thank for how the entire thing came out. I’m really glad you liked it.
oldDog
.
permalink   Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 1:59 AM
It was a huge pleasure to hear this. There’s a hypnotic quality in the way you repeat colab’s piano loop that somehow suits the melancholy of the words. As colab says, everything works together really well. Thanks.
 
.
permalink   Vidian Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 8:44 AM
I loved this song the first time I heard it and always had the vox saved on my computer. I just had to find an emotionally suitable time to work on it. I really think the lyrics are universal though. I know its meant to reflect the relationship between your father and yourself, but there are so many things I left unsaid to so many people that I love. :)
so, thank you.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 3:17 AM
This is very lovely and your backing mix enhances oldDog’s great voice and touching delivery. (Will recommend you when I get to an off-site pc. oD got to the thumb first.)
 
.
permalink   Vidian Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 8:47 AM
Aww, thanks Ciggi! (I love that name)I dunno what happened, honestly.. :P I came up with the piano quickly, and knew I didn’t want to change it to much, so I kind of built it up around that. I agree about oldDogs touching delivery.. the Capella alone gave me chills :)
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 5:01 AM
Nice mix. Really creates and maintains a mood. Good lyrics, sung with appropriate quiet resignation, excellent use of well chosen samples.
 
.
permalink   Vidian Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 8:51 AM
haha, wow, thank you! so many nice things! I’m glad you liked the amount of each of the samples I used. I wanted a lot of it to be ‘moody’ and very swaying, I’m glad now I didn’t have any drums in the middle. Thank you so much for the review!!
wellman
.
permalink   Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 6:00 AM
Everything works beatuifilly in this track. The piano is so mellow that fits perfectly with the voice, making of this a very touching mix.
 
.
permalink   Vidian Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 8:54 AM
The piano was the first thing I did :D Everything else was kind of built around it. The Capella is based on a piano bit by Colab, so I took that, and the instrumental backing, and really altered it. for some reason this song seems faster than the origional.. which I know it isn’t.. hmm :)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 6:35 AM
Moody and impressionistic indeed, clarifying the bittersweet poignancy of OldDog’s voice. Terrific and artistic use of the source materials.
 
.
permalink   Vidian Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 8:58 AM
Wow, thank you so much… It was weird, I go to sleep and wake up and bam.. a lot of people who really liked this song!! Its a good feeling to wake up to :P

At some points I feel I’ve failed to not bring out the intense emotion in OD’s voice, and it remains hidden by the music, but a lot of the message that he sings that I really feel the same way about, I tried to make clear, or enhanced through the music.. so I’m really glad you liked that aspect of it!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 9:03 AM
Lots of atmosphere in this one, which is always a good thing. I agree with Colab, one of your best pieces.
 
.
permalink   Vidian Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 9:12 AM
Oh perfect!! Thank you!! I’m glad I started doing things right then, I’ll try to keep on keeping on :D
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 12:31 PM
Right up my street. Verges on postal service / dntel / milosh.

Nice work, enjoyed the track .
 
.
permalink   Vidian Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 1:32 PM
YES! Thank you!!
I’ll have to check them out then.
I’m glad you liked it!
AT
.
permalink   Tue, May 26, 2009 @ 7:16 PM
Really nicely done, Old Dog voice just fits so well with your chosen sounds, great stuff.

oh and thanks for using me, although it all works so well that whilst listening I forgot that you did ;)
Congrats on the proposal
 
.
permalink   Vidian Wed, May 27, 2009 @ 8:46 AM
Haha Thank you!!! I’m … so … in love Haha :D

I’m glad that everything came together, in this song and in life.. when I heard your drums it was just like… the song and the sample belong together :P
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Wed, May 27, 2009 @ 7:22 AM
Magic!!!
 
.
permalink   Vidian Wed, May 27, 2009 @ 8:47 AM
George!! I missed you :D

I’m going to lock you in my basement and force you to make music for me >;D
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 1, 2009 @ 12:53 AM

The rest of the folks have said it all :)
 
.
permalink   Vidian Sun, Aug 2, 2009 @ 10:20 AM
:D
Well just the thought of reviewing
makes me happy

Thanks :D