Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Just an idealistic kid"

Just an idealistic kid
by TheDICE
Recommends (13)
Thu, Oct 25, 2012 @ 1:23 PM
 
copperhead
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 25, 2012 @ 5:03 PM
Ok Dice, I figured out Kara and you have a side band going. lol I can pretty much tell your style by now and I always look forward to where you take a piece musically. Also let me say I do enjoy them.
Some constructive critique, there are a lot of lows fighting each other that can be avoided. Check this 5 minute vid out and apply it to your mix.

http://www.youtube.com/watc...

I use it on every vocal, guitar and other things where applicable.

He has some other cool vids up too.

Keep up the fantastic work.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Thu, Oct 25, 2012 @ 6:00 PM
I appreciate your critique very much! I did this “trick” immediately after reading your review. It helped a lot, sounds really better, in his humbleness. Then I added a techno-like ending :D Thanks again for helping, and for your kindness, Copperhead!!
 
.
permalink   copperhead Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 4:04 PM
Oh! Much cleaner and lots more breathing room! I like the new ending also :)
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 5:41 PM
Thank you again for your support, Copperhead. These series of video are really useful and fun to watch.

The only thing i didnt understand about the hp filter in the video, is when is better to not use it. Anyway is a powerful way to clean a lot of mud.
 
.
permalink   copperhead Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 6:13 PM
I use it on vocals 95% of the time and guitars about 50 here. If you get vocals done by a pro they can hold up.
 
.
permalink   Speck Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 4:05 AM
Hey, thanks for that link. Helpful and easy to understand. I’m going to be checking out his whole series.
 
.
permalink   copperhead Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 4:01 PM
Anytime. He has some nice things up and only 5 minutes each. Of course the ones that speak to you take a couple of viewings to grasp it all.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Oct 27, 2012 @ 2:53 AM
Like a magazine article I read once about cutting every thing below 300Hz that ain’t a bass, kick, low tom or similar low end frequency monger.
duckett
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 25, 2012 @ 5:20 PM
Even with the modern production, there’s still a certain early-80’s post-punk vibe to this that works well with Kara’s theme/delivery.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Thu, Oct 25, 2012 @ 6:01 PM
Thank you very much Duckett for your review, i appreciated it very much!
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 3:51 AM
Very nice job of creating music for/with the vocal to come up with an excellent electro-pop song.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 5:00 PM
Thank you very much for your kindness speck. I like to change things ^^
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 6:06 AM
Great bass and synth lines well structured and very enjoyable.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 5:02 PM
Thanks unreal_dm, much appreciated!!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 6:24 AM
L.O.V.E. it. :D Leave it to TheDICE to notice how I stole my own lyrics… ;) I seriously love that you noticed the lyrical similarities of these two songs. So cool. It’s so creative and rocking… I really enjoy hearing my vox in your punk settings… always wanted to be a punk. :) I also feel like your approach to this mix is very powerful. I don’t even mind the vocal pitch-shifting. It works! Also, the vocal effects you chose are awesome… esp. how you switch them up at different points. Thank you!!!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 5:13 PM
lol, i noticed that you used the same subject in these songs, and i loved the “something happen happen…” so i tried to mix everything togheter =)

I’m very glad you enjoyed my new tribute. I’m having a lot of fun with your brillant compositions!
Thanks for your great review, i really appreciated it :)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 10:07 AM
Fun!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Fri, Oct 26, 2012 @ 5:13 PM
Thanks Susan for your listen, much appreciated :)
Wired Ant
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 27, 2012 @ 2:14 AM
Sometimes I wonder if the Lago di Garda hasn´t got a secret water sources directly from the British Isle and it´s water is running from your tab!?
Brilliant, clever, musical and very well produced
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, Oct 30, 2012 @ 5:16 AM
Thank you very much Wired Ant :)
Your kindness is always appreciated. I’m really glad you liked it my friend. In lake garda we have only some unexploded bombs from the world war Chapter II :) lol