Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » TheDICE » Maelstrom » Reviews

Reviews for "Maelstrom"

Maelstrom
by TheDICE
Recommends (18)
Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 12:07 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Javolenus
.
permalink   Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 12:22 PM
Hey, great! You got very good and clear sounds for all the samples. It’s a great song and sLow’s voice sounds even more brilliant than usual here. Excellent work!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 4:51 PM
it’s really a great fun working with these phenomenal samples… Thanks Javolenus, glad you liked :)
copperhead
.
permalink   Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 1:03 PM
Sounds awesome! I like the way you did a totally different version then the rest. :)
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 4:57 PM
I’m glad you appreciated! :) Your friend is an amazing guitarist, thanks for sharing that sample.
sLow_starteR
.
permalink   Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 1:08 PM
i dig all your artful production skills and the uniquely nuanced choices you make in all your compositions’ build-ups, Dice…you can take someone’s thumbnail sketch and then paint a whole new canvas around it!
My hat’s off 2 u (again), my friend! :) thank you for using our samples!!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 5:02 PM
I’m glad you liked, SlowStarter!! Thanks. Your vocals are great, I like working with your british melodies. I hope you’ll write and sing again soon!
Jeris
.
permalink   Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 2:53 PM
Very cool, yeah the vocals come out more…they got drowned out in my mix. I like how you used Robert’s solo too. Awesome job, diggin the arrangement
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, May 7, 2012 @ 5:09 PM
:) i listened that solo in your mix, was in the same key of javolenus guitar, so i decided to use (before I digged a lot the site, but I found nothing more appropriate than this solo). Thanks for listening & for your kindness, Jeris!
Wired Ant
.
permalink   Tue, May 8, 2012 @ 6:54 AM
A total failure in attempting to produce a total failure = MASTERPIECE
(grammatically a kind of bavarian double negation)
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, May 8, 2012 @ 1:20 PM
thanks a lot Ralf for your kindness :)) and thx for listening.

can i ask you this: what you do you think in panning the voice the left (and bass to the right)? normally i place these in the middle.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, May 8, 2012 @ 1:54 PM
Completely excellent remix, DICE! Thanks for sharing your panning trick, too. I will be trying that out. I typically keep vocals in the middle (if there are multiple- the main vox near 0 and the backups about 8-12% left and right). I do the bass and guitar (or uke) on opposite sides at 20-35%. Basically, I try to keep similar instruments panned on opposite sides. But you just proved that I should experiment! :D
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, May 8, 2012 @ 3:05 PM
Thanks for listening and for sharing the knowledge, MindMapThat. I will try your configuration, is different from my normal mixing way. Normally I put doublevocals or backvocals to the extreme sides (80%/100%).

grazie :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, May 9, 2012 @ 8:37 AM
With doubled vocals (not backups), I tend to put them at about 8% right and left. The way I mix is rather traditional (it’s what I learned in school). Of course, that doesn’t mean it’s necessarily right! I love how changing something as simple as panning can create such a dramatic effect (perfectly demonstrated by your remix). Thanks again for inspiring me to experiment!
Jacob Nowak
.
permalink   Sun, May 13, 2012 @ 5:57 AM
This is wonderful. One of the most successful collaboration. Rythm, melody, vocal - perfect!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 4:42 PM
thank you very much for your kind review Jacob. I’m glad you appreciated it.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Wed, May 16, 2012 @ 12:50 AM
Good job on this tune, Dice.
Very clean.

Would like to hear the drums keep up the drive through the entire song through the guitar solo and afterward. When drums out all the way towards the end, that is an effective technique.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 4:48 PM
Thanks a lot, texasradiofish. I’m glad you liked it! I didn’t noticed the review.

However, thanks again for the suggestions, i’ll try it!