Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "Willing Friendships"

Willing Friendships
by TheDICE
Recommends (19)
Sat, Mar 31, 2012 @ 2:22 PM

Uses samples from:

 
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 31, 2012 @ 5:16 PM
Mi hai fatto molto felice in questo Sabato sera. Questo è un mix fantastico e, come sempre, estremamente originale. È realmente andare da resistenza a resistenza. Mi sento incredibilmente fortunato ad essere scelto da voi. Un grande grazie e sono contento che tu apprezzato le fotografie! Ora vado a bere un bicchiere di Prosecco.

[You have made me very happy on this Saturday evening. This is a fantastic mix and, as always, very original. You are really going from strength to strength. I feel incredibly lucky to be chosen by you. A big thank you and I’m glad you enjoyed the photos!]
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sat, Mar 31, 2012 @ 5:59 PM
I’m honored to make you feel lucky, Ciggiburns.
This attempt was quite hard, i was almost going to quit the mix, then i found the appropriate melody (at least for my ears) for the mix, playing with the keyboard in the relative scale. However, what a beautiful song you wrote.

The photos were wonderful, nice people and beautiful animals!

Thanks for being always so kindly and for listening. Cin cin! :)
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 31, 2012 @ 7:39 PM
me, too, dice. great mix. doodoodoo to you, too.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 9:37 AM
thanks panu for listening :)
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 31, 2012 @ 10:33 PM
Buon mix audio e arrangiamento musicale. Il soggetto è triste.

Avete pensato di usare il Pitch Correction in modo che corrisponda meglio la voce con la musica?
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 9:40 AM
Thanks a lot for listening, texasradiofish.

You are right, it needs some tuning… I suck at that, i need input. Please, can i ask you if you pitch the vox file directly or you use the pitcher plugin of flstudio (or what)?
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 12:47 PM
Quote: TheDICE Please, can i ask you if you pitch the vox file directly or you use the pitcher plugin of flstudio (or what)?

Repitching or pitch controlling samples can be helpful or hurtful depending on circumstances, and when helpful usually in a limited range. Repitching can be most effective when you cut out then change one note or phrase you wish to edit leaving the rest of the track in tact. I tend to use runtime pitch control to tighten up monophonic vocals, bass and guitar tracks, or slightly modify the key, for instance, change from a major to a minor key.

Generally, there are 5 ways that we repitch or pitch control samples on FL Studio.

Before runtime:
(1) To repitch an entire sample, we usually use the channel pitch control.
To repitch single notes, we sometimes use
(2) Edison (a) find pitch regions and (b) pitch edit a region … how to tune a kick drum using Edison tutorial here http://www.youtube.com/watc...
(3) Newtone (haven’t figured out how to save Newtone as mono samples … what a pain)

During runtime (samples with no polyphony on mono tracks):
(4) GSnap free plugin is my favorite

During runtime (samples with no polyphony on stereo tracks):
(5) Pitcher

We don’t use Celemony Melodyne although ElRon owns the mono version. I would like to own a polyphonic pitch editor like Melodyne. On list of things on which to spend money someday.

On one occasion, I was able to stretch a sub bass sample during run time to effect a pitch bend by automating control of the time knob in the channel setting. This is technique can be very glitchy and experimenting with it probably means you have way too much time free time of your hands.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 5:55 PM
This was really useful. Gsnap seems to work well, added to my vsts for quick surgery. I discovered newtone, i never noticed it, and it was included, lol. Powerful tool!

When i found an appropriate alternative chord progression, the vocals results always slighty untuned. I tried to re-pitch a bit the vox using newtone.

thanks a lot, texasradiofish!! :))
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 1:58 AM
great pumping bass line - all very nicley put together
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 9:42 AM
Thanks unreal_dm, glad you liked the bass. I was indeed happy with it! (only with that, anyway)
Dysfunction_AL
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 8:43 AM
Ma parli Italiano? ( te pozzino - Romano- ).. Un lavoro creativo molto personale che racchiude una buona dose di gusto personale e voglia di fare musica. Somiglia in qualche modo lontano alle influenze di Battiato ( per gli archi ) e degli anni ottanta in generale. Mi piace

But you speak Italian? (You Pozzino - Strictly Roman language-) .. A very personal creative work which contains a good dose of personal taste and desire to make music. Resembles somewhat distant to the influences of Battiato’s songs (for strings) and the eighties in general. I like it a lot !!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 9:51 AM
Yes, i can speak Italian. Mi fa piacere trovare un italiano da queste parti :) Mi è piaciuta molto la tua recensione, grazie davvero Destinazione altrove.

ora, vado a gustarmi la tua nuova creatura
annabloom
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 3:53 PM
well done, egregio signore. i really like your rock/orchestra arrangements
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 6:09 PM
Thanks a lot, Annabloom. I’m very glad you appreciate my efforts :)
Jacob Nowak
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 5:37 PM
Very enjoyable mix! I’ve just past into 80’s synh rock. Thank you! dududu - Love it:)
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 6:11 PM
:) thanks a lot Jacob, for listening and for your kind words.
Wired Ant
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 11:43 PM
A mix that can make a dull day bright!
Great arrangement and not even a nano second boring - well - no very well done
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 2, 2012 @ 5:02 PM
thank you very much, my friend :)
Javolenus
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 2, 2012 @ 2:22 AM
Very nice. Great sounds allround. Lovely voice sound (best “do dos” I heard in a long time). I like the arrangement—very accessible. A strong mix—added to playlist!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 2, 2012 @ 5:03 PM
I’m glad you liked it, Javolenus.
Thanks for listening!
VickyDan
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 2, 2012 @ 9:35 AM
Ciao ….
Another way to mix this beautiful voice, in a very personal style, but done well in my opinion …. Even if there is a slight shift in the “pitch”, that can surprise …. This brings, another musical dimension, which we penetrating, by the sounds …. Resulting in very well.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 2, 2012 @ 5:06 PM
thank you very much Vicky for your kind words, and for listening! i’m glad you appreciated.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 3, 2012 @ 12:12 PM
Flippin’ awesome! And ditto on the above praise…
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, Apr 3, 2012 @ 1:07 PM
Thank you very much Kara!