Beauty of Perspective Event
skip
Home » People » SackJo22 » TraLa » Reviews

Reviews for "TraLa"

TraLa
by SackJo22
Recommends (16)
Sat, May 31, 2014 @ 4:52 PM
Play TraLa
 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sat, May 31, 2014 @ 2:47 PM
A beautiful summer evening song. To listen to when the sun is long down and today’s travails are to be thought of.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, May 31, 2014 @ 3:03 PM
What lovely words. Thank you.

The evening I wrote this song, I was sitting in the garden at dusk. My garden right now is mockingbird haven with several birds nesting in the surrounding trees. They are ferocious protectors of their territory. This evening, a mockingbird flew from its perch on the wire to hover in front of me and the dog, flapping its wings so that the bright white band of at the wingbase became like a beacon in the diminishing light. It did this several times as of to stave off any potential encroachment by either me or the dog. Then I sang along with it. It was actually quite extraordinary!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sat, May 31, 2014 @ 5:20 PM
Ahh… lovely. As I listened, my kitty snored in the corner after a long day outside (lots of garden work). It felt so right to hear this. As always, I love your harmonies. It’s wonderful to read the inspiration for this that you shared. Tender, beautiful, and enlivening… I do feel like the traditional came across…. like a classic Guthrie… Woody or Arlo… your choice. :)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Jun 2, 2014 @ 11:48 PM
Sounds like a lovely moment. I always appreciate that quiet moment after a day of gardening. It’s a unique feeling of comfort and accomplishment. Thanks Kara.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sat, May 31, 2014 @ 9:02 PM
Such delicate air in your vocals - beautiful. Moving imagery and emotion. Beautiful.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Jun 2, 2014 @ 11:49 PM
Thanks Em. xxx
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 1, 2014 @ 7:55 AM
Ahh … so sweet, gentle and beautiful, capturing the peace of being alone under the stars and thinking deep, solitary thoughts. You sing with such feeling and the harmonies are just honeyed.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Jun 2, 2014 @ 11:55 PM
Thank you dear Ciggi. I think it would be lovely to hear this song with other voices singing harmonies with me… ;-)
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 1, 2014 @ 5:45 PM
My first thought/feeling as I started listening (before I read your description) was ‘ooh, traditional’ so yeah that definitely comes across. I know you wouldn’t think it to listen to the stuff I do but I really like the purity and direct emotion of a heartfelt traditional. So… I really like this.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Jun 2, 2014 @ 11:59 PM
I like hearing you went “ooh traditional” and I’m really glad you like it. I’m not surprised at all that you really like the purity and direct emotion of a heartfelt traditional. I think that predilection is suggested by how you work with vocals when you cut them up to rearrange the words (which you do with fantastic outcomes).
SmoJos
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 3, 2014 @ 2:26 PM
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Jun 21, 2014 @ 4:30 PM
copperhead
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 20, 2014 @ 6:12 PM
How did you sneak this one in? How does one find the time? :)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Jun 21, 2014 @ 4:31 PM
Quote: copperheadHow did you sneak this one in? How does one find the time? :)

Not sure! Ha!Ha! Thanks for listening.
Jeris
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 7, 2014 @ 4:25 PM
How have I never heard this? It’s so good. Nothin like some good folk harmonies!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Jul 7, 2014 @ 10:15 PM
Thanks Jeris. You know me and how I feel about harmonies… :-)