Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip

Reviews for "Spanish Moss

Spanish Moss & Gator Holes wi...
by timberman
Recommends (32)
Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 7:44 PM

Uses samples from:

 
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 10:38 PM
First impression: It’s hot. The kind of heat that is relentless, the only relief the brief brush of your lover’s cool fingers on your brow until the heat surrounds you once again coming in humid and sexy.

All of the elements fit together masterfully, and your singing is just divine! You know I’m a huge fan of your work and like pretty much everything you create — but this track is a real stand out for me.
 
.
permalink   timberman Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 10:53 PM
Oh, thanks much. That was a very kind (and sexy) review.
septahelix
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 3:13 AM
yeah, this is top shelf. very well produced. it’s poppy, but powerful, and i’m not used to that.
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 6:30 AM
Thanks much for the review, mate
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 3:42 AM
This does exude the kind of thoughtful sensuality that Roxy Music had on Avalon - but with a musical centre of gravity on the other side of the Atlantic. The subject matter is obviously very southern, and the musical style, quite Canadian (Robbie Robertson or Daniel Lanois could easily have recorded this.)
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 6:38 AM
Thank you. Good names you mention.
CSoul
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 4:14 AM
This is as a very softly flowing river and it has a peaceful sound.Conrats timberman very nice track ,
peace
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 6:31 AM
Thanks much for the review, mate
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 5:15 AM
A fresh and unique take on D’ Aubergine nice track.
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 6:31 AM
Thanks much for the review, mate
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 6:19 AM
first, your voice is a very personal & instantly recognizable part of this track and i’m really glad you’ve added that element to your already prodigious producorial prowess. secondly, this is an outstanding track wrapped in its own emotions & mists. thanks.
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 6:32 AM
Thanks much, mate
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 10:33 AM
Gentle and quite lovely. The panu songbook, timberman edition - good idea.
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 11:07 AM
Thanks, Denny. I’ve got so many tracks I fear I would bore the community by posting all of them.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 12:46 PM
Quote: timbermanI fear I would bore the community by posting all of them.
Impossible!
 
.
permalink   rocavaco Fri, Sep 30, 2011 @ 6:36 AM
Completely impossible!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 10:34 AM
Very nice Per! The sweeping, slow paced arrangement is a very roxy kind of music. :P

of course, it doesn’t hurt you sing like bryan ferry!

Love those pads!
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 10:36 AM
heh, I didn’t read Admiral Bob’s comparison to “avalon” but that’s exactly my first thought as well. I also agree with his robertson/lanois production comparisons. spot on.
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 11:13 AM
What can I say, Steve. You both mention one of the best albums of the 80’s and two of the most respected producers around. Thanks much.
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 12:37 PM
Very interesting and almost haunting piece. Bob wrote about Roxy Music’s Avalon. I definitely agree on that. There is some Brian Ferry there.
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 1:31 PM
Thanks much, ZH.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 12:48 PM
Ditto, ditto, ditto… This is fantastic. Reeled me into your mystical world… And I must reiterate (again): I love your voice. And delivery. Love it.
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 1:29 PM
You’re unique in the way your genuine kind-hearted energy shines through everything you do, even your revewing. Thanks so much, Kara.
Jeris
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 4:27 PM
Nice, I was thinking about those same two samples from Panu!! Great job : )
 
.
permalink   timberman Wed, Sep 28, 2011 @ 10:41 PM
Thanks much, Jeris.
musikpirat
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 29, 2011 @ 1:05 PM
Great interpretation of panus song.
http://musik.klarmachen-zum...
 
.
permalink   timberman Thu, Sep 29, 2011 @ 1:17 PM
Hey, that’s a very nice surprise. Thanks a lot for that.
copperhead
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 29, 2011 @ 4:06 PM
WOW! First of all your production on this is just amazing. Every spectrum of sound is covered in my studio. It’s very open yet it encompasses my ears delightfully. Panu has some chops also. Well done!!!
 
.
permalink   timberman Thu, Sep 29, 2011 @ 10:57 PM
Thanks much for your support, Greg.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 1, 2011 @ 12:34 AM
Big fan of D’Aubergine stories. Good job, Per.

As she moves deeper into the swamp, she tells the hapless,

“Que nous avions ensemble, toi et moi …
Exquis souvenirs.
Tout est possible.
Ne m’oublie pas.”