Firefly Secret Mixter Remixes!
skip
Home » People » Papa_Zulu » Ghost Rave » Reviews

Reviews for "Ghost Rave"

Ghost Rave
by Papa_Zulu
Recommends (17)
Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 10:40 PM
 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 4:02 AM
The little keys break about 60 percent of the way through, followed by the return to the rave, is my favorite part here—I really like the contrast and the pace change in the middle, as well as the nice sound from the keys. During the early going, the beats are solid and the melody good, but through my headphones the EQ sounds a bit too high, so that I had to pull down the volume and perhaps, without being certain, I thought there is a slight trace of clipping.

But when this one gets to the keys break and then reignites, that really grabs me.
 
.
permalink   Papa_Zulu Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 5:59 PM
Thanks Gurdonark, yeah I can arrange stuff, but still need help in the post-production dept which has been my nemesis!
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 5:12 AM
Quote: but through my headphones the EQ sounds a bit too high, I thought there is a slight trace of clipping
Had that same experiance.

Funny little remix it reminds me of an older track I’ve made once. This is my ‘version’ of that melody
 
.
permalink   Papa_Zulu Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:08 PM
Shape Shifters is awesome! I wanted some sort of vox too, but I searched cc mixer and couldn’t find a decent fit so I went without
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 7:42 AM
hey papa zulu! love how you incorporated that organ riff. your transitions are smoothly crafted and well done. i like the breakdown in the middle.

definitely a track appropriate for halloween! nice work.
 
.
permalink   Papa_Zulu Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:19 PM
Thanks Snowflake! I love these secret mixers - they really get your crative side going.
captainstupidity
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 7:45 AM
Oh, I love this! The wah effect for the organ was great. Thanks for creating such an awesome mix!
 
.
permalink   Papa_Zulu Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:21 PM
Yeah Capt, when I was going thru your samples I heard this and said THATS the one.. then had this image of ghosts and goblins dancing around, hehe
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 8:19 AM
Awww, no rock this time? Just kidding! Nice mix. You’ve made a techno track entirely listenable with the aural change in pace. Now why is this experimental?
 
.
permalink   Papa_Zulu Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:23 PM
Yeah I have been playing around with alot more electronica, trying to figure out mastering. I have to say Ivan your stuff is sounding spectacular!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 7:38 AM
Thanks for your encouragement. Though I think you might have been a tad too generous to say “spectacular” :) About the mastering bit… yeah, pain in the you-know-what, that’s how I feel about it sometimes. Getting that optimum sound takes the fun out of the music. I read this book “Guerrilla home recording: How to get great sound from any studio (no matter how weird or cheap your gear is)” by Karl Coryat. Found it quite instructive. You can look it up at Amazon.com (ISBN: 0879308346). I’ve also posted some brief notes at my pseudo book-review blog.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 12:25 PM
I like it. Suddenly I’ve been transported to 1985 (a personal matter), and this has made me feel good. Thanks for that. Great remix.
 
.
permalink   Papa_Zulu Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:27 PM
1985 was a good year wasn’t it? Thank you. BTW I still listen to your awesome remix from a secret mixer or two ago when I need to reflect: The Unicorn’s Dream
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 6:06 PM
Good job! I like the keyboard break in the middle too (as Snowflake mentioned). It’s great to see you stretching out!
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 7, 2011 @ 9:58 PM
That was so good! Great Mix!!!