Beauty of Perspective Event
skip
Home » People » Loveshadow » Every Wave » Reviews

Reviews for "Every Wave"

Every Wave
by Loveshadow
Recommends (11)
Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 3:51 AM

Uses samples from:

 
fourstones
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 14, 2007 @ 5:01 PM
Listened to this a bunch of times — I’m really happy you’re stretching here, it’s like you’re showing another side of your personality and it’s great to see it.

The nit here is that some of the slicing could have been cleaner; cutting is a whole art form separate from almost any other musical discipline (duh) and it can take some head-wrapping to get it done. (e.g. because you left the intake breaths at the end of the phrase it sounds like she’s gasping, rather than preparing a breath for the next phrase - maybe you planned it this way but I found it distracting from the great groove you laid down.)

I do love the track and it’s a welcome re-interpretation of the pells.
*** Topic deleted by author ***
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Nov 15, 2007 @ 9:42 AM
Maybe you should start teaching a course in proper elocution for vocalists who want to be remixed ;-).
 
.
permalink   fourstones Thu, Nov 15, 2007 @ 6:25 PM
btw I didn’t mean to imply that you didn’t know about cutting, just that whether in the original or not, in this setting the gasps and they way they cut off were distracting me.

fwiw I did notice the back-beat shifting thing and tbh… thought it was awesome. Again, it had that cut-up sound but here it was just such a good idea that I didn’t care.
duckett
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 4:32 AM
This is what’s playing when the guy gets the girl, and they drive off into the sunset…
For all that work, not a seam in sight, just “ahhhh…”
Here’s the weird part for me; after reading your review of “Winter Comes” I cruise here to see if you’ve got anything new- and see you’ve been busy with remixing the very track I had the same problem with as “Winter”, namely I had a minor-key inst. which worked great, except when the “Right on top..” couplet came up, I ended up stuffing another break over those two lines, but was never satisfied w/ it, cg had nice words but I deleted it anyway.
Seemingly effortless as usual LS, complex yet not overwhelming.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 10:19 AM
Just heard the first the original vocals, so this must have been indeed a lot of edits.
There was an artist who said approximately once:” Art is a lot of fun, but means also a lot of work”.

So it is here and the result is a very beautiful song that I enjoy to listen to.

For me it has some Earl Klugh, David Foster, Michael McDonald, Michael Franks and a few more influences.

Nice pop song!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 5:08 PM
Forget the gold watch I think you’re going for the Queens telegram!!

This type of music seems to be your thing as the feel of the music and the use of the vocals appears to be coming from the heart.

Makes me want to have a go at the vox myself but with my usual RT slant.
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 5:28 PM
Patience and passion, you need a heck of a lot of both to get to this result. Not a huge fan of highly edited vocals (never sound quite right to me) this time they work. The percussive effect of hitting them on the beats the way they do is just right. Don’t expect me to quote bands or genres because I don’t know where to place this. It just works.

The instrumentation, well that to me is just pure Loveshadow. Not a bad thing in my book.

Congratulations on this one. Quite a technical challenge worthy of recognition.

Hurry up Lasswell, let’s hear whatcha got!
spinmeister
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 7:40 PM
as one, who likes to mess a bit with the vocals, my hat off and deep respect for this level of detail editing and making it sound natural and believable.

That’s not just musical talent, but sheer hard work.

Congratulations on a masterful job setting the bar real high again!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 9:11 PM
I went back and listen to the original vocals, and i see you put in a LOT of work on this. I really admire that. Sometimes when i get frustrated with a project, it’s very easy to take the quick way out. Another Loveshadow GEM. Your arrangement, your choice of sounds and your playing is pure perfection on this track. Very Nice Work LS.
oldDog
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 14, 2007 @ 2:05 AM
Great attention to detail - not only the vocal edits but those intricate instrumental riffs are very cool too.
plurgid
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 15, 2007 @ 9:37 AM
damn, no matter what’s up with the vox edits (which ain’t bad) … that instrumental … lord lord that’s tight …

… I’m not worthy … I’m not worthy … I’m not worthy … :-)
Sr. Privado
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 17, 2007 @ 3:37 PM
… eh? … what? I am sorry, I got distracted listening to this remix…

… what? Somebody is stealing my car? Can you tell him to wait until I finish listening this?