Rise from the Ashes Event
skip
Home » People » Fireproof_Babies » Io » Reviews

Reviews for "Io"

Io
by Fireproof_Babies
Recommends (18)
Wed, Nov 12, 2008 @ 2:24 PM
Play Io
 
billraydrums
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 12, 2008 @ 2:55 PM
FAN-FREAKIN’-TASTIC!!
This is completely cool!!
Thanks so much for taking what I did, which was just tooling around for 2 minutes on a friend’s new bajillion dollar drumset…. and turning it into something.

WOW. +++++AAAAAAAAA
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Wed, Nov 12, 2008 @ 7:27 PM
It is always most pleasant to know that the original performer appreciates a Babies mix. Thanks man…great drumming!
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 7:25 PM
Must say those drums are kickin’ - I think you did the kit justice for your two minutes :-).
The3amAssociation
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 2:41 AM
very nice !
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 6:42 PM
Thanks 3am!
khidir
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 5:56 AM
holy gods of prog!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 6:43 PM
hee…heee…….thanks ;)
radiotimes
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 6:11 AM
Now I should have known that if anyone could have taken these great drums and made something of them it would be “The Babies”!!

This mix is particulaly apt this week with the sad loss of that great drummer Mitch Mitchell and puts me in mind of the Hendrix stuff he played so brilliantly on.

I’d like to think on some parts you used your teeth but then again that’s just wishful thinking!!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 6:49 PM
Oh hell no….no teeth. I once shocked my teeth by holding a scissors in my teeth and touching a metal chair during dry winter. Very painful. Since that time, I avoid anything electrical touching my teeth. Thanks for the review!
PS- Mitch’s passing kinda shocked me. Just heard the news this morn. and nearly called in sick. He was my fav ‘60’s drummer.
 
.
permalink   billraydrums Fri, Nov 14, 2008 @ 3:27 AM
Quote: radiotimesNow I should have known that if anyone could have taken these great drums and made something of them it would be “The Babies”!!

This mix is particulaly apt this week with the sad loss of that great drummer Mitch Mitchell and puts me in mind of the Hendrix stuff he played so brilliantly on.

I’d like to think on some parts you used your teeth but then again that’s just wishful thinking!!


Yes MM was an inspiration..go see http://billraydrums.com for the backstory on myself and MM…
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Fri, Nov 14, 2008 @ 2:59 PM
Thanks for the link! You’ve got a swell site. Really diggin’ that wacko Korean drummer. That squeaky bass pedal and the club-grip on his left stick is hilarious!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 10:29 AM
Prog yeah! So did you set your guitar on fire afterwards? ;-)
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 6:52 PM
No fire…. too pretty to burn. Thanks for listening!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 2:20 PM
Definitely “CRIM”, definitely “SON”.
You are the “KING”.
Babies on prog forever.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 6:54 PM
A definite influence on this one. Thanks!
essesq
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 3:04 PM
Hey that is nice … just have to break into that misplaced mellotron sample right in the middle with some wispy babe singing a few high notes (oh, or is that just the keyboard player with the long hair).

I’ll have to play this one for an old Englishman with whom I am well acquainted. He will appreciate it.

Funny I had this one filed mentally for listening because of the title. Made me feel temporarily smart when I thought, “oh Io, I know what that is, it’s one of the moons of Jupiter.” Thanks for that :-).

Great job Babies!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 7:03 PM
You hear a mellotron in the middle? That’s queer. Must be a ghost or a gtr volume swell. hee…hee… The Io for which the moon is named is quite an odd story. Greek myth. Zeus has an affair with Io; a priestess for his old lady, Hera. He turns her (Io) into a large white heifer to hide his infidelity. Thanks for the review!
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 7:21 PM
I think you understood that my comment was not that I really heard a mellotron in the middle but just in case, I didn’t, it was an attempt at humor. I was saying that it needed to go there, but not really. I was recently reading a chapter of a book about musical hallucinations, so maybe it came from inside my brain. Must dust more often in there :-).
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Fri, Nov 14, 2008 @ 2:45 PM
Heard a story on NPR once about musical hallucinations. That would push me over the edge. Much worse than getting a song stuck in your head.
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 3:23 PM
Brilliant. Rave on!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 7:04 PM
Thanks Anchor, you idiosyncratic crooner you!
Scomber
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 4:00 PM
I can feel Jupiter’s gravity tearing the guitars apart.
Can’t wait for you to explore her other 62 moons.
Europa is cracking up, begging for a soundtrack!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Nov 13, 2008 @ 7:11 PM
Hey that’s a thought. Europa is another very interesting Jovian moon. Some think there might be beasties in its deep oceans. Thank you for listening!
panu
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 17, 2008 @ 4:56 PM
is it too late to say HOLY CRAP! this thing rocks hard enuff to blister all digits involved in its birthing. bless you ‘babies’ people.