Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "Liver Lips"

Liver Lips
by Fireproof_Babies
Recommends (0)
Sun, Sep 2, 2007 @ 6:47 AM
 
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 2, 2007 @ 9:26 AM
well, synch-wise, stuff really sounds off. i went and listened to the the source and i realize there’s a long delay on the guitar loop but it still sounds off the beat, minimal as it is. and the synth stuff sounds off to me too. sorry, maybe that’s what you planned but it sounds pretty dissonant to me.

i guess arrangement wise you might have a back story to this, but the lack of linearity isn’t making me feel it.

tough love. sorry.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Sep 2, 2007 @ 2:04 PM
That off synth stuff is probably the hand played parts. Using a Roland SH-5 1970’s analog beast that was in one of its moods. It was kinda taking off in its own direction on that 1st section. I swear that thing is never the same sound each time I turn it on. The middle part was all programed so I think that part’s ok. Maybe I’ll try to tighten that 1st part; maybe
not…have to ask my cat.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Sep 2, 2007 @ 4:32 PM
I just did a little corrective surgery on this: version 1.3
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 2, 2007 @ 9:42 AM
The guitar and synth intro is very whimsical—neither quite vidgame nor quite pop song. By 1:00,I’m ready for a bit more variation than this instrumental is offering. When it finally arrives around 1:18, it’s energetic, and that little panned bottom end percussion is nice. The upper end synth is retro in the best way, but does not capture me. The bass thing that gets going around 2 is really fun, and then the wah wah is great.

At 2:30, the old-fashioned synth is a nice layer on top of the vidgame sound. What makes this song fun is that it revels in these fun retro sounds.

The mix is nice, with the way the instruments pan as if they *were* instruments and not softsynth.

The extro cuts a bit abruptly.

This one is a fun listen. It might benefit from a revision in the first minute, as what makes the rest of the song so fun is that you don’t stay on any one thing too long.

If I still had my Commodore 64, then I’d try to make music like this!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Sep 2, 2007 @ 2:30 PM
Thanks dude. I really appreciate and enjoy your reviews. I think you’re the most incisive reviewer on the site; in that you’re a careful listener and your critiques are not just critical, but helpful.
fourstones
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 3, 2007 @ 11:31 AM
yea, this is very clever. I’m not a huge fan of clever. sry I don’t have anything more constructive because you’ve made a choice to be clever and my completely subjective wish is that you would make a choice to dig deep instead.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Mon, Sep 3, 2007 @ 12:28 PM
Never gonna happen, my man. Besides, lobotomies are expensive.
narva9
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 2, 2007 @ 9:45 AM
:)…it pretty much describes the sonic environment when you live with a few cats. All strange noises, off beat foot steps and things falling off shelves at random….oh yeah and the unwanted feline commentary about just about everything.

n9