Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip
Home » People » DJ.E-State » Open Your Eyes » Reviews

Reviews for "Open Your Eyes"

Open Your Eyes
by DJ.E-State
Recommends (6)
Sat, Feb 17, 2007 @ 11:28 AM
This upload might be Not Safe For Work

Uses samples from:

 
tripledoubler
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 18, 2007 @ 5:24 AM
somehow this is close to perfect. it has everything the average hiphop-lover wants to hear, for example, parts of it remind me on wutang clan. all the variations (and there are a lot) really work.

the only thing i don`t really like, but that`s just my personal taste, is the endpart of the first sample, you can hear around 0:12(?) when you let it loop full length, i just don`t like the mood when the melody goes down the scale in the sample`s end, i`d prefer a more dramatic touch, instead of that kind of sweetness (like the thrill it gets around 1:30).
 
.
permalink   DJ.E-State Sun, Feb 18, 2007 @ 7:15 AM
I agree with you, I also don’t like much that sweet ending..
pleased with comparison with wutang, they’re surely my favourites )
J.Lang, FFGreen, tripledoubler, thx for reviews!
DJ BLUE
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 26, 2007 @ 11:54 PM
this is cool. you’ve got some great elements in there. i am absolutely loving the loops/samples from about 50 secs in to about 1:20. super tight.

the orchestral stuff is interesting but found some of it a hair overwhelming and overpowering the lyrics and my ear. nonetheless, props for undertaking a different approach….

nice work!
 
.
permalink   DJ.E-State Tue, Feb 27, 2007 @ 11:56 AM
Quote: DJ BLUEi am absolutely loving the loops/samples from about 50 secs in to about 1:20. super tight.

Oh, I love these underground loops most in this track, our tastes are similar )
nice 2 see your review!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 17, 2007 @ 5:42 PM
Love the many changes, cool Sounds/ Loops.
My only Nic Pick….. Very Slight..Sync Problems here and there, and sometimes the music over powers the vocals a bit. Nothing to go crazy about.
Still a 5 from me.
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 17, 2007 @ 5:57 PM
This is cool..
BOCrew
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 19, 2007 @ 7:10 AM
You Got a Style Man
Great
plurgid
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 19, 2007 @ 7:40 AM
yeah, this definitely has the killa beez flavor. I agree with others here, the string sample with he portamento or whatever dosen’t seem to fit the rest of the track.

You mixed up the vocals masterfully. And I like the electric piano at the end. I bet if you effected the strings a little, it might give it an edgier sound. But damn … yeah, this is 5 star, dude. Excellent