Secret Mixter Tracks
skip
Home » People » CiggiBurns » Bad Penny » Reviews

Reviews for "Bad Penny"

Bad Penny
by CiggiBurns
Recommends (25)
Thu, Feb 27, 2014 @ 9:13 AM

Uses samples from:

 
oldDog
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 27, 2014 @ 9:33 AM
This is a really lovely, moving song, beautifully sung. It’s wonderful to hear my backing track taken up and used in such an unexpected, but completely appropriate, way. Thanks Ciggi!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 6:54 AM
Thank you! Every single time I listen to your backing track it makes me tear-up. It is so beautifully sad, or sadly beautiful.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 27, 2014 @ 9:47 AM
Just a brief visit here, out of curiosity of course, for to listen to the beautiful melodious music that accompanies you here, but also your talented voice …. It was a long time, but it is a pleasant surprise …. Thanks you and OldDog for this magical moment …. Félicitations à vous deux.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 6:57 AM
Merci de revenir à écouter - et je vous remercie pour votre belle revue. oldDog compose de la musique exceptionnelle …. mais il n’est pas le seul, Vicky!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 27, 2014 @ 10:08 AM
Ahhhh… beautiful, mourning, melancholic wonderfulness. Such a beautiful composition from oldDog… and you know I’m a sucker for your voice… it’s just so fantastic to hear a new one from you. This is so expressive, soulful (even if saying so contradicts the lyrics), rich, and well recorded!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 6:58 AM
You’ll give me a big head, Kara! But what a lovely way to get one!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
Speck
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 27, 2014 @ 12:57 PM
Poignant indeed, beautifully sung and well mated to the backing track. Sad song but happy you’ve turned up.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 7:00 AM
Thanks so much, Speck. I haven’t been interacting much here and so I’m overwhelmed by the response from others. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your two reviews.
Shelflife
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 27, 2014 @ 4:47 PM
Just great and as always a heartfelt performance.

On a technical note the mix is a bit muddy but even that does not detract from the wonderful feeling you have produced.


Also thanks for reminding us of that very talented Old Dog who really needs to shake off a few fleas and put something new up here for us mere mortals to take for a walk!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 7:03 AM
I agree it would be fantastic if oldDog participated again but he’s doing a ton of live performing - and nothing compares with that! Thank you for your great review and the technical point. My voice can make you wince on the higher notes, so it was evened out a bit. But the file has been replaced and I think sounds ‘brighter’. Thanks again.
keytronic
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 27, 2014 @ 6:06 PM
wonderful….
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 7:04 AM
Many, many thanks!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 27, 2014 @ 11:56 PM
Lovely work. Your phrasing is absolutely exquisite. It’s so nice to hear you here again! You have beeen missed dear Ciggi.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 7:06 AM
Thank you so much for your very generous review, SJ! It does feel nice to be back. Trouble is, I don’t get many new ideas these days. I blame Tony!
panu
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 12:54 AM
Written & performed with intimacy and empathy as only you can. In a word… .superb.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Feb 28, 2014 @ 7:07 AM
Well you know how much your review means to me, Sir P. Many, many thanks for all your support!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 12:50 PM
heartbreakingly beautiful. your lyrics pierce to the core and your vocal performance is sheer perfection. a beautiful use of oldDog’s works. an incredible mix.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:36 PM
I’m overwhelmed. Thank you so much for such a fabulous review. Makes all the hard (but enjoyable) work worthwhile!