We're on a New Server!
skip
Home » People » Briareus » Mirrors » Reviews

Reviews for "Mirrors"

Mirrors
by Briareus
Recommends (13)
Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 8:20 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 2:58 PM
I have to be honest i sometimes find your music hard to lock into but this is great.

Asian flavours wrapped up in a Yes type atmosphere.

You have you lead vocal sounding like the treatment and feel of Jon Anderson .

Nice rickshaw ride.
 
.
permalink   Briareus Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 3:36 PM
Thanks LS. I’ve always been a big Yes fan - saw them live in the early 80’s. I can’t approach the tonal or rhythmic complexities they induce, but they are certainly an influence.
Carosone
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 3:14 PM
Mandoline sounds asian and the beautiful voice effect too. It reminds me of east journeys so long ago.
Computer drums look chaotic, like those generated by a crazy generative software that can transform a jpeg image into a midi pattern (I played one month with the ArtSong demo I found on Computer Music Magazine 2-3 years ago, and I did the same kind of drum tracks as I hear here), or did you program the single hits by hand one by one? If 2nd chance, you must be a very patient person!!
 
.
permalink   Briareus Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 3:33 PM
I have a few effects that generate random patterns from jpg images - I know what you mean. In this case, they are real drums (sampled) that are randomized and sync’d to the BPM - it’s an interesting effect that I use occasionally.

Thanks for the review.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 5:07 PM
I have always liked your work but felt that there was always the last piece of the puzzle missing.

Your last 4 or 5 mixes have discovered that piece and you are creating some great mixes.

Always a great listen and now even better!
 
.
permalink   Briareus Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 7:21 PM
Thanks RT. That’s a nice compliment indeed.
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 5:53 PM
gorgeous piece, Mr. B. sound, timbre, & performance on the music are top-notch & a totally unexpected combination. but with all that good stuff goin’ on, you support SackJo’s vocal perfectly. i’m impressed.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 6:17 PM
The mandolin is lovely, delicate and persuasive, engendering a variety of associations throughout the richness of this track. Another treat from the big B, indeed. I am so pleased my pell gets to be part of this luscious mix. As always, thank you.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 25, 2009 @ 11:14 PM
Intricate, delicate and truly beautiful. Plus it’s invariably a pleasure to listen to SJ22’s lovely voice.
Leza Boyland
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 27, 2009 @ 2:08 PM
Great job B, the mandolin creates a lovely texture with the vocals. L