Firefly Secret Mixter Remixes!
skip
Home » People » Alex » Art Now » Reviews

Reviews for "Art Now"

Art Now
by Alex
Recommends (78)
Sun, Jan 30, 2011 @ 9:27 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 30, 2011 @ 9:29 AM
Nicely done here, Alex. I dug it.
 
.
permalink   Alex Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:52 AM
Glad you dug it MJ!
Thanks man!!!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 30, 2011 @ 11:03 AM
Well, I am no techno expert (I am just an old prog rocker), but this sounds very fine to me.
 
.
permalink   Alex Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:54 AM
Nice to hear it from you Sub!
Thanks!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 30, 2011 @ 11:08 AM
Hell yes. You have groove in your blood Alex. You know this is my kind of tune and I’m loving it. Nice work man.
 
.
permalink   Alex Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:51 AM
Thanks Scott!
A big compliment from you my friend!
…and now I have to get back to my dnb track :)
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 12:09 PM
…I’m waiting for it.

You should do more of these electronic cuts Alex, you is good at ‘em.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 30, 2011 @ 3:22 PM
you amaze me with your talent. ESPECIALLY your volume of work. this is another great track from you and i’m honored to be a part of it. listening lifted me from a stressful situation - your music completely transformed my state.

thank you.

the breakdown in the middle is excellent. alex, this is absolutely musical art. so many little nuances that add energy and color. i would ed pick this, but i’m in it so that would be tacky ;)

i’m wondering if you may have mastered this just a little hot? at least in my headhpones, it is a little painful around 1-3k in the sound spectrum. maybe you could turn down that EQ and remaster a couple db lower? just a suggestion of course ;)
 
.
permalink   Alex Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:45 AM
Hey S!
It’s very nice to know you liked it, but you are way to kind :) and I’m very glad that it’s changed your state…
All those EQ problems are driving me crazy sometimes, I think I should read more and learn some about the db, frequencies… I just rely on presets( Ozone4 in this case) ‘cause when I start to tweak all those knobs and sliders ( without knowing what I’m doing actually )it always ends up in huge disaster..
Anyway, the stems are up, not EQed :)
Thank you S!!!
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Wed, Feb 2, 2011 @ 3:23 AM
A good exercise is to wrigth all the parts on a paper and add the frequencies they are in. Find the main freq. off all the parts and then eq thos freq in the other parts down.

Did you eq your reverb/delay? Cause it sounds like there’s a lot on there wich can lead to problems one of theme is distorting frequencies. (not that your track is distorting but I couldn’t think of another term)

One last tip. Use panning on sounds that are in the same freq range (apart from kick and bass) It will give more room for each part and there for less freq problems and a bigger sounds as bonus

One book that’s helped me a lot was mastering from musictech focus
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Feb 2, 2011 @ 8:31 AM
great advice AA. thanks so much!!
Speck
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 9:09 AM
Wowza. Sounds great.
 
.
permalink   Alex Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:55 AM
I like Wowza :)
Thanks!
Zapac
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:23 AM
Great! I love it!
 
.
permalink   Alex Mon, Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:56 AM
Nice to know it Z!
Thanks!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 1, 2011 @ 9:16 AM
This mix caused three physical reactions:
1)tapping foot
2)head-bobbing side to side
3)smile

=

 
.
permalink   Alex Tue, Feb 1, 2011 @ 10:16 AM
I had just the same symptoms making it…
Thanks MMT!
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 2, 2011 @ 3:26 AM
I like this one a lot. Same vocal I used same genre totally diffrent outcome.
I had a similair experince as MMT
 
.
permalink   Alex Wed, Feb 2, 2011 @ 4:40 AM
I liked your mix a lot! Strong one
Thanks for the tips! I was reading CM and Musictech too, and I’ve learned a lots of tricks to be honest… and I have to get back to reading, it’s been a while…
Tnanks!!!
debbizo
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 4, 2011 @ 10:10 PM
It sounds great to me, although I am hearing a little of the ‘hot’-ness that snowflake has mentioned.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 5, 2011 @ 12:37 AM
gots the beat
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 11, 2011 @ 1:45 PM
Awesome — I didn’t realize I hadn’t left a review until I started working on the Emergence curation for the opening — Wow! You never cease to amaze me Alez!
economix
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 14, 2011 @ 5:27 AM
Alex, this is probably the traxk that made me keep listening for more talent in ccmixter. I made a tribute at http://www.youtube.com/watc...
MiamiFashionTrends
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 2, 2012 @ 6:50 PM
Alex I loved this theme, I used it in my video http://www.youtube.com/watc... and Attributed music to you. Regards and Thanks a lot!
noggins
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 17, 2014 @ 11:09 AM
I used this song in a 3d puzzle game, currently free on android.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.noggins.blok

Thank you!
dueholmfoto
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 15, 2014 @ 12:46 PM
I used your music here:
http://dueholmfoto.dk/
Thank’s a lot!
Best regards
Rie Dueholm
dueholmfoto.dk