Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » Pluggy Plugs » Werewolf

Werewolf

Bruce H. McCosar
permalink   Wed, Feb 6, 2008 @ 7:05 PM
Greetings. This is my first try at ccMixter, so I’d appreciate any advice you could give me. I’ve read the excellent introductions on eMXR. I am new to the entire world of sampling and remixing, however.

I started out as a jazz musician, long ago, but drifted into my own style. I tend to cycle between groovy, funky pieces and more abstract compositions in odd time signatures. Although I consider myself to be (primarily) a bass player, I also make a decent run at keyboard instruments, guitar, and drums. The one thing I can’t do is sing.

I’ve been releasing my music on Jamendo for more than a year. I have three albums posted.

For the most recent, La vie sous la mer, I kept all of my raw tracks intact and unmixed, stored in a separate archive. I have always admired the principle of Creative Commons — all of my albums are by-nc-sa — but one day thought about the practical difficulty of anyone building on my work when the published version was so thick and layered.

Well, then I found ccMixter, and hopefully, the rest is history.

We will see.

Already I’m impressed by some of the material I’ve found here. It’s like opening the proverbial wardrobe door and finding an entire magic kingdom on the other side. In some ways, I don’t know where to start.

But that’s a different thread ;-D

Anyway, glad to be here. Check out my tracks, five of the components of Song #8 on La vie. I did not keep them aligned for time. I figure someone who is brilliant at sampling can pull out what they want and turn them into something that will amaze me. So why force anyone to walk a path I’ve already traveled? Exactly. Free for interpretation.

Glad to meet you all, and I hope if I’ve already made a boo boo, it’s a minor one :D
victor
permalink   Thu, Feb 7, 2008 @ 1:45 PM