Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » DIY » Voice to notation software?

Voice to notation software?

debbizo
permalink   Mon, Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:19 PM
Hi, Can anyone recommend some software that does voice to notation and allows you save it and export as a midi (or even .wav)? I have a free trial of Music Masterworks, which can do this…but it is clunky and the results are variable. Before I spend any money for the full version, I’d like to find out if there is an alternative.
Thanks, debbizo
Subliminal
permalink   Mon, Aug 23, 2010 @ 10:37 PM
Melodyne Editor can do that. I have tried it a couple of times, but the result depends on the quality of the source recording and you still have to do some editing to get a decent result. At least that is my (admittedly) limited experience with it.

permalink   debbizo Mon, Aug 23, 2010 @ 11:59 PM
Thanks for the information Subliminal. I will look into this one.
gurdonark
permalink   Sun, Sep 26, 2010 @ 3:06 AM
i use the freeware Wave Goodbye for wav to midi conversion, and then in theory could use the freeware Anvilstudio.com to convert the MIDI to standard notation. With Wave Goodbye, the results are variable, which, for me, is its charm—but probably is not what you’d want.

I believe that commercial technology is better on this, but I am not sure the silver bullet conversion program yet exists. i have not tried melodyne, though, so i cannot say with certainty.

permalink   debbizo Sun, Sep 26, 2010 @ 3:13 AM
Thanks Gurdonark. I have Anvil Studio but might have a look at Wave Goodbye.

permalink   gurdonark Sun, Sep 26, 2010 @ 3:22 AM
Debbizo, to save you having to look, I uploaded the zip of the freeware wave goodbye 1.0 to the following box;
http://www.box.net/shared/s...

I’m always pleased that cool software folks share with us.

permalink   debbizo Sun, Sep 26, 2010 @ 4:49 AM
Thanks so much, I appreciate it. However, when I go to the link I get the message “This shared file or folder link has been removed.”