Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » DIY » problems with remixing

problems with remixing

remaxim
permalink   Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 10:34 AM
Hi,
I am quite new to this hole remixing stuff and experienced some problems. I m using Reason 4.0 and Ableton Live 6.0 and tried to remix This is our music by Forensic .

I usually just use the BPM of my beat(or pitch it a little bit) and use the A Cappella as a “slave sample” (or just leave it as it is, if it fits the beat). This time my problem is that there is no specific BPM of the A Cappella (“the tempo is between 81 and 82”) and I really can’t get it synchronous to the beat. I ve searched for a Howto and some instructions about remixing A Cappellas for quite a while and couldn’t find anything useful. Maybe you could give me some tips on this?

btw: a friend of me helped me doing that with Virtual Dj, but I lost quite much quality that way: http://www.box.net/shared/v...

thanks for your time,
remaxim
victor
permalink   Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 12:34 PM
Quote: use the A Cappella as a “slave sample” (or just leave it as it is, if it fits the beat)

I don’t know of a serious remixer on the site that doesn’t chop up a pell to precisely synch them on the beat - some of us are not as good, even then, at hitting all the beats as others but leaving a full pell completely alone or using it as a guide track is asking for trouble in most cases.

For Reason that means slicing in recycle and dorking with midi notes.

Live is much (much!) easier for this because of the visual feedback and ability to fix up and nudge slices while listening. Personally I have not had a lot of success with warping vocals in Live and then messing with the stretch markers, I just slice the track in arrangement view.

If I get really stuck I dig up another remix (or the original if it exists) and use that as a reference right inside of Live until I feel the vocals are placed right.

permalink   remaxim Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 12:58 PM