Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip
Home » People » urmymuse » hourglass » Reviews

Reviews for "hourglass"

hourglass
by urmymuse
Recommends (26)
Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:03 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:06 AM
Now this is just too sweet for words. I like what you’ve done here urmymuse. ;)
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:10 AM
Cheers, thanks for listening and your review:)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:09 AM
U2 type guitars lead it in, but it quickly gets mellow and acoustic, the refrain takes it up a little, and the U2 guitars are back.

Snowflake’s voice echoes through the guitars. The acoustics are back, and a cello takes us up the refrain, and “this time” the chorus steps back for the guitars.

“What to do” over top of the crunky guitars that lead into washing choral guitars, and over “No escaping” it gets reflective for a moment, before the U2 guitars come back, this time with a lead guitar sliding up and down the fretboard.

We end on just the voice, which since the hourglass is all that is left, seems appropriate somehow. (I did the same, if I remember.)
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:12 AM
Thanks Admiral for your real time review, glad you liked.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:17 AM
Great backing mix for Snowflake’s vocals. It’s like prime 80’s Smith/Cure/Gothpop. Another made to order mix. It’s like these 2 were just meant to be. Excellent take. This goes onto my “you own this” playlist.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:13 AM
Cheers! Smiths/Cure/Gothpop those were the days. Thanks for listening, glad you like.
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:18 AM
While listening to this song on the tv is a beautifull lady singing a song with a gitar player. A perfect clip for this song!!
Like the host says on tv: “you really have touch me”
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:14 AM
Quote: Abstract Audio“you really have touch me” Oh thanks, much appreciated.
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:59 AM
I’m not always sure what to say but I like this very much…I especially like the guitars near the end.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:16 AM
Cheers Deb, doing the whole mix was fun but I particularly liked adding the guitar flourishes at the end, so glad you liked.
Tom_Ena
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:51 AM
Works together really well
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:17 AM
Cheers!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:52 AM
This is good, UMM. Does have a U2-like feel in places. Nice spatial arrangement.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:18 AM
Thanks, The edge is clearly a guitar master though i didnt have any u2 albums way back then.
Blake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:41 AM
Perfect mix! very nice!!!!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:19 AM
Thanks man!
mykleanthony
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:23 AM
Really nice work here. I’ve had the pleasure to work on a few of Snowflake’s vocals and, I don’t know about you but I realised how gifted she is and how pure her vocals are. I love the feel of this track. Great Job.



Peace! ;)~
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 9:29 AM
you are such a sweetheart!!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:20 AM
Ah yes Snowflakes vocals certainly are wonderful. Thanks for listening and your review!
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:49 AM
I would think getting paired with snowflake would be hard. You know, the pressure and all… LOL. Another one from you that I enjoyed. Other than you, I don’t believe I’ve heard another Brit-rock remixer here :)
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:23 AM
Cheers Ivan, this solitary Brit Rock remixer did tremble at the prospect and went through many revisions to end up with this, ta for listening glad you liked.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 9:32 AM
flawless transitions between time signatures, i am very impressed! the power of your guitar work provides a strong frame for this song. you’ve made me rock out and i am really digging it! thank you so very much for mixing me :)
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:26 AM
Cheers snowflake, it was a real pleasure to remix your stunning “Hourglass”, the time signature choices took several versions/ hours of angst so glad you think they work. Delighted you like my guitar work, thanks for listening and your review much appreciated.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:49 PM
My reviews for your mixes are a bit redundant, I know but I LOVE YOUR GUITARS! You just have a gift for blowing out the emotional resonance of a song. This is absolutely terrific! Bravo!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:28 AM
Hi Susan, your reviews are never redundant!!!! Thanks for listening I am really glad you dig my guitars , thanks for your review it is really appreciated.
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:50 AM
I agree with snowflake that the shift between 3/4 and 4/4 is seamless. It could have been a gimmicky thing, but here it adds incredible character to the track.

Nice work as usual.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:31 AM
Cheers Colab, yes I ummed and ahhed over the time signature , went round in circles and eventually returned to where I started so glad you think it works. Thanks for listening and your review, much appreciated.
AT
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:04 PM
yes this is very nice and so well done, i love your guitar work. Dont know about U2—Kind of reminds me of All About Eve a bit. Very nice work Sir
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:34 AM
Cheers, I dont have any U2 Albums but I do have “Through the clouds” by All About Eve and I see what you mean, thanks for listening and your review.
tethia
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 5, 2011 @ 3:53 AM
Beautiful work! Liked it
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Jan 5, 2011 @ 11:54 AM
Cheers! Thanks for having a listen.