Join Us Under the Tree - Add Your Musical Gift
skip
Home » People » spinmeister » Fade To Black » Reviews

Reviews for "Fade To Black"

Fade To Black
by spinmeister
Recommends (31)
Sun, Nov 14, 2010 @ 10:48 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 15, 2010 @ 2:15 AM
Love the guitars - the swells and surf guitars, and it is amazing how well Susan’s vocals fit this.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:08 AM
thanks AB! The mood of the vocals fit from the start (that was the basic idea), but then I made the vocals fit. After cutting a subset of snippets, there were liberal pitch, vibrato and note length adjustments, before applying fx treatment.
Ryan Allen
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 15, 2010 @ 7:15 AM
great sound quality. beautiful….i really enjoyed this song…you have inspired me to try and make a melodic ambient version using the vocals in this…
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:14 AM
Thanks RA! Have fun creating your ambient remix!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 15, 2010 @ 7:16 AM
I LOVE what you did here! My White Out vocals tend to get mixed up in darker, spookier timbres but you lifted them up and brightened them with your chord choices and arrangement. Innabar’s vocals are just so lovely! And you know what I think of your twangy guitar (and in case you forgot — I love it!) We sound like the soundtrack for a Cirque de Soleil centerpiece. (Can’t you just see the aerliests soaring above on jewel toned ribbons?) Thanks so much for including me in this splending work!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:22 AM
Thanks SJ! I “cheated” (see my reply to AB above) to make the vocal tracks work in a little less dark mood. The cirque (a fine Canadian export btw.) was one of my mental associations indeed (the other one was also caught by TRF below).
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 15, 2010 @ 11:25 AM
Yes. This is terrific. Great use of Susan’s vocals and the overall production is nicely restrained - just perfectly balanced.

Nice one.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:27 AM
Thanks C.! Not sure if you noticed, there was also a second vocalist (from the opposite coast), who (just like SJ) has an intriguing catalog here.
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 16, 2010 @ 5:34 AM
I like the relaxed pace and the perfect balance of elements. Simplicity with depth of feeling. I’m seeing opening credits for a noir western.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:31 AM
Thanks S! As TRF noticed in his comment below, this man is one of my musical influences.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 16, 2010 @ 3:34 PM
simply Divine…………..!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:31 AM
Thank you AM!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 20, 2010 @ 6:48 AM
Stunning Job. Mr Spin.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:34 AM
Thanks LS! blush!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 20, 2010 @ 11:58 PM
Fabulous Cinematique! Like Ennio Morricone’s soundtrack for Once Upon a Time in the West without the harmonica!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:38 AM
Thanks TRF! You nailed it! That sound track has been a huge musical influence for me.
essesq
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 10:35 AM
Beautiful soundscape. I waited so long to review this that there isn’t much left to say.

This is very cinematic and evocative and would make a great soundtrack for a whole lot of different settings. I’m surprised it hasn’t already been picked up. Great job. :-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:40 AM
Thanks Ms. E! As confessed above (and on my profile page), one of the grand masters of soundtracks is a significant musical influence for me.
debbizo
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:07 PM
This is gorgeous! And very relaxing listening. Straight to my favourites.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Nov 24, 2010 @ 12:19 AM
Thanks DZ! And congratulations on your new domain and website!
 
.
permalink   debbizo Wed, Nov 24, 2010 @ 2:05 AM
Thank you spinmeister

(www.debmatthewszott.com for anyone who is wondering)
Zapac
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 9, 2010 @ 7:33 AM
I don’t know what can I tell you. Great song, great sounding, awe-inspiring.
My all respect to you.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, Dec 9, 2010 @ 5:17 PM
Thank you so much Z.! The respect is mutual!
AT
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 13, 2010 @ 4:59 PM
well I maybe a bit late but still worth the visit. This is so very well done Spinny, absolutely some Cirque in there (first time I saw them was there Algeria show and this reminds me alot of that night-very good night it was)I’ll have to go check out this Ennio fellow ;) good work spin, great production—-
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Dec 13, 2010 @ 5:04 PM
Thanks AT! If you like the cirque music, there’s an amazing artist on Magnatune who actually WAS a cirque singer.

lol - and yes, that Ennio fellow also has the odd good piece of music floating around ;-) One of these days, I’ll have to add some harmonica to one of my remixes to give more proper due :-)
 
.
permalink   AT Mon, Dec 13, 2010 @ 5:18 PM
listening now—thanks Spin—-liking so far.