Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip
Home » People » Speck » kerri and em » Reviews

Reviews for "kerri and em"

kerri and em
by Speck
Recommends (13)
Mon, Sep 21, 2009 @ 5:47 AM

Samples are used in:

 
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 21, 2009 @ 6:19 AM
Good good good. I would pay to watch this movie.

Great use of sources. Great build-up. You’re very good at teetering on the edge of noise, but always keeping that musical thread going.

Yup. And also yes.
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 21, 2009 @ 7:30 AM
Colab put it very accurately. Although for me it wasn’t so much “at the edge of noise” but more of “at the edge of monotony”. That is to say, before the ambient sounds become monotonous, the aural trip introduced something new and that easily sustained my interest. Before I knew it, the track was over! It was like listening to “Clan of the Cave Bears” meets “Legends of the Fall” plus some new age fusion. I can appreciate the effort that went into this. Nice.
Leza Boyland
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 21, 2009 @ 11:54 AM
I love this it’s very shamanic and a delight to lose yourself to. L
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 21, 2009 @ 11:57 AM
Yes, nice trip..
skoria
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 21, 2009 @ 12:11 PM
Interesting to hear such an excursion into arabic sounds, thanks for including me!

I felt the setar I was playing could have had a smaller, repeated sample so as to fit in more precisely with the other instruments, but messy is nice too, and more fitting with the idea of being surrounded by wall hangings, mint tea and lush carpets.

It all finishes just as I started getting into it though: Had I been there, able to meet all the others who made the sounds that are in that virtual jam, it would have gone on all night.
 
.
permalink   Speck Mon, Sep 21, 2009 @ 12:32 PM
Quote: skoriaI felt the setar I was playing could have had a smaller, repeated sample so as to fit in more precisely with the other instruments, but messy is nice too Aw shucks, I thought it fit rather neatly (which is not the same as precisely). It is a 16 bar repeat (that only goes 23 bars) but I didn’t want to chop it any more, I like the ‘live jam’ feel it gives.
drive on the wayside
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 22, 2009 @ 2:53 AM
From what I’ve heard from your remixes you have a succinct disinterest in convention for conventions sake and that’s what I like MOST about your mixes. You push the envelope and create compelling musical pallets that are exotic to the senses which leaves myself as a listener very satisfied for the experience. To be more specific… I dig it baby. Great stuff :-)
 
.
permalink   Speck Tue, Sep 22, 2009 @ 10:40 AM
Quote: waysidedrive …a disinterest in convention…This is true. However, even if I wanted to create something more conventional I wouldn’t have the talent to pull it off. I’m not a trained musician, just a digital dilettante. Thanks for listening, I think I’ve got one more coming up with some source material from you. Thanks for that too.
 
.
permalink   drive on the wayside Tue, Sep 22, 2009 @ 11:53 AM
haha. I can understand that. To me it’s a much purer form of expression. Sometimes knowing “what to do” can be a hindrance. When you’re not bound by the rules then you can just jump in head first and make something for the sheer joy of making it. I can’t wait to hear the new remixes! I’m honored to be the humble supplier of stems :-)
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 22, 2009 @ 5:53 AM
I’m with Leza and Ditto on this one (how nice for them). I simply got lost in your fabulous mix. To me it was like lying on warm, purple sand and being washed over by wonderful sounds. No, I’m not a nutter. xxxx
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 22, 2009 @ 1:54 PM
It was worth to stop by here for having sort of extraordinary trip!

Great soundscape!
Chuck Berglund
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 22, 2009 @ 2:58 PM
Enjoyed that abstract concept ….you found Kerri just after i did…now thats quite magic..Good Piece!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 22, 2009 @ 11:03 PM
Yes!
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 23, 2009 @ 10:41 AM
Doktah… i’ve got a fever of 120BPM. can ya hep me? oh yeah, you just did! nice one, Denny.
FuzOnAcid
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 15, 2009 @ 11:57 PM
Shamanic a reviewer used previously. Probably the first time that has ever been used in a song review but compltely on the makrk. Fascinating listen. The Native flute was beautiful and offset so well by the bass guitar which was “different” to say the least. Was it off key, off beat and atonal all at the same time but was brilliant :-). If this is who I think it is you really have a flare for this. I remeber getting some loops from you and I couldn’t make heads or tails from them…lol…but you really stretch some cool songs from the bizarre. Em’s vocals were a pleasant surprise as i don’t belive I’ve heard her chant before and since I live in an Indian Community it very much reminded me of that genre. I was almost thinking this is Jazz I think because the rythmns and melodies are not traditional but still musical. Beautifully done.