Perspectives Playlist at Art Gallery Oct 12
skip

Reviews for "Our Childhood Christmas Tree"

Our Childhood Christmas Tree
by Snowflake
Recommends (19)
Tue, Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Jeris
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40 PM
Magical mixing!!!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03 PM
Your stems are incredible Jeris! I loved working with them :D
 
.
permalink   Jeris Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:06 AM
This was such a good match too…a lot of mbiras and hang drums are homemade instruments. I plan on getting some from Etsy. :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:42 AM
hadn’t thought of that, but how fortuitously appropriate :)
robwalkerpoet
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:58 AM
Thanks so much Emily. I’m honored to be in a “snowflake/ Jeris/Speck remix” as I respect the work of each one of you. Your music adds another layer of emotion to the point where I am moved by my own poem - possibly a first!
It’s exactly two years since I had that experience & wrote down the words. The significance of the ‘remixed version’ isn’t lost on me.
Cheers,
rob
 
.
permalink   Jeris Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:59 AM
Emily/Rob…I’ve listened to this several times. It’s very special to me. Reminds me of my mom (Adelaida)and my childhood as well. One year my dad was out to sea and we had no $ but my two sisters and I gathered loose change around the house and we were able to buy a little tree and decorate it. Every year after that my mom went crazy with decorating the house, every Xmas was more and more elaborate. She basically turned the whole house into a miniature Xmas village. Little houses, snow, lakes, people, reindeer, robotic Santa and Mrs Santa singing and dancing…it was quite amazing. :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:44 AM
Rob, so pleased you like the mix. Your pell really touched me. Would you be so kind to post your lyrics? Then I can add them here. I am a very visual gal and love to read while I listen. I wish you had a picture of your tree! Alas, I know hold one in my mind.

Jeris, your mom’s decor sounds joyous. you remind me, some of our most precious moments come out of poverty.
 
.
permalink   robwalkerpoet Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:01 PM
I’ve posted the lyrics to the Looking up page, Emily. (They we originally formatted as a concrete poem in the shape of a Christmas tree but I can’t do that here!)
There aren’t any photos. We didn’t own a camera.
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:28 AM
That is indeed a touching spoken word piece and you’ve framed/supported it well.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:45 AM
thank you Speck! your wandering bells actually started all of the inspiration. :)
keytronic
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:51 PM
I closed my eyes and have seen me as a child decorating the tree.
As Jeris said. It is magical

Still sitting here with goosebumps.
Linden Tree
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:14 PM
Am fond of Rob’s narrative poetry, and this is a perfect testament
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:34 AM
I second the expression “magical”… the xylophone made me think of rats fighting toy soldiers. :)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:19 AM
Absolutely gorgeous remix. Wow. Skillful. Inspired. Moving.