skip
Home » People » Snowflake » Orc March Choir » Reviews

Reviews for "Orc March Choir"

Orc March Choir
by Snowflake
Recommends (23)
Sun, Sep 11, 2011 @ 11:13 AM
 
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 11, 2011 @ 2:53 PM
Primitive with class. Hmm… I think I might try something with just these and the cello.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Sep 12, 2011 @ 1:53 PM
can’t wait to hear it!!!
Jeris
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 11, 2011 @ 3:56 PM
Cool, kinda like a tribal Carmina Burana. I’m scrrrd, sounds like someone’s bout to get sacrificed..lol

Yeah, we can’t have a music for film project without getting Orffy with it! Nice job!

I bet nobody has ever said “Gettin Orffy with it” before..lol

Just watched King Kong again for like the 4th time, reminds me of that sacrifice scene too.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Sep 12, 2011 @ 1:54 PM
Gettin Orffy is my new fav phrase :) glad you got scared and the Carmina Burana reference is appreciated (my vocal performance falls far short however!)….
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Sep 12, 2011 @ 2:27 PM
Not at all, it’s nice to have a full choir but that’s not always what’s needed. I think what you did is going to be very useful and sounds great.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Sep 12, 2011 @ 2:31 PM
On the other end of the spectrum though:
This is an incredible recording, and I’ve listened to tons of them…definitely worth checking out:

Eugen Jochum with the choir and orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin and Gundula Janowitz, Gerhard Stolze, and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. Recorded October 1967 in Berlin’s Ufa-Studio, released 1968 (Deutsche Grammophon). This version was endorsed by Carl Orff himself and was the first choice of the BBC Radio 3 CD Review “Building a Library” review in 1995 [1].
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 8:37 AM
awesome! thanks Jeris! you have amazing ears.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 8:47 AM
You’re welcome. I used to work in a gigantic room filled with classical music, it was quite an education. I was a teenager having coffee and donuts and discussing classical recordings with old people that were like living wikipedias. Some of them probably knew Orff..lol. I think they would all agree that DG has the best overall quality. So if you’re ever not sure just go with DG…of course now you can hear everything first anyway..lol
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 19, 2011 @ 9:15 PM
Basematic’s remix highlight’s your amazing singing — I believe there is nothing you cannot express with your voice. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 8:35 AM
thanks Susan! your high soprano inspires mine :)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 1:03 AM
This isn’t about that chicken is it :-(
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 8:36 AM
Luckily I recorded this before Fuey died. thanks for noticing :)
copperhead
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 15, 2014 @ 6:34 PM
I never noticed this before but it’s incredible. I definitely want to play with it :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Jan 15, 2014 @ 9:24 PM
yea!! i think you could rock this!!