Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip

Reviews for "Island Journey Reprise"

Island Journey Reprise
by Ivan Chew
Recommends (15)
Wed, Feb 3, 2010 @ 9:13 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 3, 2010 @ 9:36 AM
Nice. The synth flutes, the clean guitar leads, it all works!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Wed, Feb 3, 2010 @ 9:43 AM
Thanks man. Appreciate the listen and the comment.
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 3, 2010 @ 10:02 AM
Yes. It all works. Very interesting and compelling mix that really pulls you in.

Love the chord progression - it really blends classical with new in a terrific, non-gimmicky way.

Yeah - this is thoroughly enjoyable. Nice work.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Feb 4, 2010 @ 7:12 AM
Nice to see you back! Thanks for the review.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 3, 2010 @ 10:47 AM
Oh my this is lovely! It was just so easy to fall into a reverie and drift along with the dulcet tones of your guitar.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Feb 4, 2010 @ 7:17 AM
Quote: SackJo22It was just so easy to fall into a reverie and drift along with the dulcet tones of your guitar.wow. Reading your review is better than winning a prize. Thank you.
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 3, 2010 @ 11:15 AM
That is some sweet, dreamy guitar playing, man!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Feb 4, 2010 @ 7:28 AM
Thanks, Ben. BTW, I completely understand about the “ Four Months, Twelve Remixes” thing :) I’ve to remind myself about the day job as well.
 
.
permalink   Down With Ben Thu, Feb 4, 2010 @ 7:59 AM
Wow, thanks, man! I was being beginning to think nobody paid any attention to that blog!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 3, 2010 @ 11:50 AM
Hi Ivan, this a really sublime composition, building beautifully on Papa Zulu’s sample. Your Les Paul sounds great! (intrinsically and cause you play it so well)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Feb 4, 2010 @ 7:34 AM
Oh, I don’t know about my playing. Reverb and stereo tracks helps, LOL. Thank you, in any case. My Les Paul is an Epiphone, not a Gibson. The factory pick-ups are so-so, to be honest (of cos a bad carpenter blames the tools… yeah I know that). Anyway I ran my guitar through a Line6 KB37 toneport, which does wonders to the sound as well. You might want to try one some time.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 10:49 AM
cheers Ivan thanks for the tip,
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 3, 2010 @ 12:38 PM
Yah man. It’s some kind of magic. Absolute perfect vybes. Congrat from Hungary. G-d bless ya and keep on rockin.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Feb 4, 2010 @ 7:19 AM
I tell my friends CCM is like a musical united nations. Heh… hey mr. h, thank you! Oh, I see you’ve a neo-classical piece yourself :)
Papa_Zulu
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 11:59 PM
Wow Ivan, this is beautiful. Sorry I took so long to give a shout, I just got back. You definately capture the sound, feel and emotion I was trying to put out there! Like Sackjo said, flows dreamily. I love it!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 12:53 AM
No apologies needed. I’ve to thank you instead. For sharing the MIDI files. It’s given me more flexibility to tweak the sounds. Glad you enjoyed this.